We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Magic Cafe

Black Magic Cafe
103 W. Erie, Folly Beach, SC 29439
+1 843-633-0025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Another hidden gem in Folly Beach! The grits were unforgettable. Great breakfast, great coffee! Very enjoyable!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    39
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Was one of my favorite spots, but not a fan of all the changes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I discovered Black Magic Cafe when we were staying at the Water's Edge Inn on Folly Beach for our honeymoon. Less than a year later, we were living in Charleston. We loved the feel of the place. It was casual but unique... had a great selection of smoothies and hearty breakfast food. I loved getting coffee and treats to go and enjoying them on the beach. On a recent trip back, we noticed that there were quite a few changes. The place has turned into more of a cafe/diner feel. The menu changed... they added "craft" beers which are not really craft beers... and now they have a bunch of generic signs on the walls, whereas they used to have local art that you could purchase. The wait if you do want to take something to go is much longer than it used to be, but overall, I feel like the place lost some of its charm. It's still one of the better spots on Folly, but I miss what it was.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Culinary Magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This unique building draws you in and once inside, great menu selections. I always eat seafood at every meal when at the coast and both my friend and I had different, yet delicious meals. Don't miss it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the atmosphere and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just a great place to go hang out, have coffee, and enjoy some pastries! Emme loves the smoothies and the t-shirts are cool (got one last year and it's one of my faves).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Excellent food, friendly servers. We were a party of 6 that was seated quickly. It was not your typical breakfast menu but everything we ordered was delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Magic Cafe also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Magic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Magic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.