We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Cafe on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Magic Cafe

Black Magic Cafe
103 W. Erie, Folly Beach, SC 29439
+1 843-633-0025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Little Cafe on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was such a nice surprise to find this café. Great food - very fresh! If you visit Folly make sure to stop by for a quick bite - you wont be disappointed!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    39
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cute Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was our go-to place for coffee every morning while in Folly Beach. Try the Dirty Chai - chai tea with a shot of espresso. Mmmm. Splurged on a chocolate croissant one morning, which they heated up for us. Good thing I was splitting with my sister - it was huge, but so delicious I could have eaten the whole thing!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Reading The Menu Was As Good As It Got”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Tides Hotel for a few days and one morning we skipped the pretty decent breakfast buffet at the hotel and instead walked down the street to Black Magic, which was highly rated in Tripadvisor. That was a mistake. The place is pretty neat - indoor and outdoor seating, lots of cute decorations 'round and about - and the menu reads very well, with lots of innovative, interesting sounding, creative selections for breakfast and lunch. That's as good as it got. Almost no one in our group was pleased with the food. The service was okay, but not great either. Maybe it was too early in the morning? Maybe the normal chef had sprained an ankle the night before? Who knows? But a lot was left uneaten when we left. I started out with a nice glass of breakfast chardonnay, which was served warm as toast and had to be mixed (and diluted) with ice to be drinkable. Was the server still asleep? I then had the Folly Hash Bowl (photo) which came with one piece of un-toasted toast and included what I believe might have been chorizo sausage, but was a chewy and grisly as pieces of an old boot. Awful. The simple Country sandwich (photo), ordered by someone else, was also un-toasted, thin and poorly constructed. Biscuits on another place were left behind. The Croissant French Toast (photo) was okay and the Shrimp and Grits weren't too bad, all for $25 per couple. Was it a decent value? All of us were in agreement: Not in the least, and almost as far from Five Dots Excellent as you can get.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The breakfast was great! Love that they get local produce. Each more we went here are got iced coffee. It was delicious.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Vegan Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great place on Folly beach. Breakfast and Brunch. Good omnivore offerings, but also good Vegetarian/Vegan offerings. I would say the best on Folly Beach

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Magic Cafe also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Magic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Magic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.