We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay food. Fun bar.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loggerhead's Beach Grill

Loggerhead's Beach Grill
123 West Ashley Ave, Folly Beach, SC 29439
843-588-2365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 28 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Loggerhead's is "The Spot" on Folly Beach where locals and tourists meet to enjoy food, drink and themselves in a fun laid back atmosphere. We focus on fresh local seafood prepared to order with fair prices. Enjoy the smoke free dining room or relax on the new deck, complete with an awesome open air bar and views of the Atlantic Ocean.
las vegas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just okay food. Fun bar.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The bar is fun, but the food is average for the most part.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    68
    29
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Versailles, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Poor service and the food was average. The location was wonderful though...very close to the beach.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the Burgers, Hate the slow service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I'm a year-round Folly Beach resident who's eaten everywhere in town at least once. I always try a restaurant at least twice before reviewing, especially if I have negative thoughts. Loggerheads has the best burgers on the beach, but in four trips since January, the service has been painfully slow. It can take 20 minutes to get a beer brought to the table...appetizer: half hour. and we're talking about a slow night in the off-season. I haven't dared to venture back now that it's high season. In a beach town, slow service can kill a restaurant real fast. I realize Folly folks move a little slower than the people in downtown Charleston, but enough is enough. speed it up folks.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Highly recommend for their outside bar and live music, food was ok, service was very slow. Would go back for dry rub wings, shrimp and oysters, and atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, a bit slow on service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Food was good beach type stuff you would expect. Outdoor service seems slow and that the staff was often confused on what good went to what table. asked several times for various items, some if which we never got (nothing to big, a glass of water, etc) just a bit annoying more than anything. Staff was really nice so I don't know if they are under staffed or what the deal is but good makes up for a few hiccups along the way

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loggerhead's Beach Grill also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Loggerhead's Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loggerhead's Beach Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.