We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Seafood Restaurant

Sandcastle Seafood Restaurant
2293 Folly Road, Folly Beach, SC
(843) 795-4910
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 27 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Drove by it on way to the beach. Looked kitschy and beachy. Stopped on way back, so glad that we did. Everything was fresh. I had grilled shark, my daughter had the shrimp. Great value, lots of food, hushpuppies, fries,green beans and cole slaw plus drink. Under 35 bucks. Sat in a 3 season porch over looking the wate. Staff checked on us alot to see if we needed anything . Differently would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Richmond, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great, fresh fried seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Generally fried and fresh don't go together, but in the case of the Sandcastle, they go together well. This is an annual stop while we are in Folly.

I had the fried seafood basket (deviled crab, oysters, flounder, shrimp and scallops). My sign of good food is the amount of sauce I have to use and at the Sandcastle each year I have to use very little tartar or cocktail sauce. This tradition started with my father wanting fried clam strips and they have consistently excellent clam strips year after year.

My sons had fried shrimp and not a complaint from either.

They do have grilled options.

This is a small restaurant just off the main island, but is definitely worth the trip. This year it was raining and we weren't able to sit on the deck this year, but if it is not too hot and humid the deck is a great option.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascot, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We ate here the last night of our honeymoon in Folly and were so pleased! The price for the seafood was excellent for the amount of food you get! Great place! Sit outside if you can :)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food & Kind Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great visit and well worth the stop. Jimmy serves good food and I was pleased. The shrimp could have used a bit more seasoning, but I will gladly overlook that because I enjoyed the serviceso much.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quaint but Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is not an upscale restaurant. They have a screened porch for dining if desired. with pIcnic tables being the choice on the porch. There is also inside dining, but we chose outside by the water with a nice breeze. The food is fried -- but delicious, very hot and fresh and served by a personable waitress. The shrimp was the best I have had in the area. Warning -- it is a CASH ONLY place so be prepared. We will certainly visit Sandcastle again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandcastle Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sandcastle Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.