We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Kind Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Seafood Restaurant

Sandcastle Seafood Restaurant
2293 Folly Road, Folly Beach, SC
(843) 795-4910
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 27 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food & Kind Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great visit and well worth the stop. Jimmy serves good food and I was pleased. The shrimp could have used a bit more seasoning, but I will gladly overlook that because I enjoyed the serviceso much.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapin, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quaint but Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is not an upscale restaurant. They have a screened porch for dining if desired. with pIcnic tables being the choice on the porch. There is also inside dining, but we chose outside by the water with a nice breeze. The food is fried -- but delicious, very hot and fresh and served by a personable waitress. The shrimp was the best I have had in the area. Warning -- it is a CASH ONLY place so be prepared. We will certainly visit Sandcastle again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“a lucky find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

we were visiting charleston and drove to folly beach for dinner. It was a Friday evening and it was really crowded -- we were looking for something a little quieter. We had noticed the Sandcastle on the outskirts of town, so we turned right around and went there and had the best seafood we'd had in a very long time. Yes, it was fried, as the other reviewer pointed out, but absolutely not greasy. The fish and shrimp, crab, and scallops were all very fresh, and the batter was light, crispy, and not overwhelming. It's not a fancy place: it's just a roadside restaurant with rough wooden tables, and you order at the counter. but it does overlook the water. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fried”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

If you like fried seafood then I guess this is the place. I don't eat fried food. If your looking for a nice piece of fresh grilled fish good luck. I don't think there is a place in folly that offers anything except fried. Our waitress said she works in a seafood restaurant but doesn't know much about seafood. Seriously!! I'm hoping charleston will have some better options!!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandcastle Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sandcastle Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastle Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.