We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food on folly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 'Wich Doctor

The 'Wich Doctor
106 W. Hudson, Folly Beach, SC 29439
843-588-6666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 26 restaurants in Folly Beach
Cuisines: Pizza, International, Noodle, Sandwiches
Description: We serve eclectic sandwiches and Neapolitan style pizza.We take a lot of time and pride in roasting our own meats, making the rubs/marinades, mustard and all sauces. During winter/ spring, we offer Specialty Grilled Cheeses and a Noodle Dish in addition to the menu. In the summer months, we will have cold Noodle salads/ Asian Salads. We make our own Hibiscus Ginger Punch and offer a wide selection of Natural Sodas (Virgils, Reed's,Maine Root and Fizzy Lizzy). We have a small selection of beer, but you may bring wine. We are a small place with huge taste...nothing else quite like it.
Restaurant details
Description: We serve eclectic sandwiches and Neapolitan style pizza.We take a lot of time and pride in roasting our own meats, making the rubs/marinades, mustard and all sauces. During winter/ spring, we offer Specialty Grilled Cheeses and a Noodle Dish in addition to the menu. In the summer months, we will have cold Noodle salads/ Asian Salads. We make our own Hibiscus Ginger Punch and offer a wide selection of Natural Sodas (Virgils, Reed's,Maine Root and Fizzy Lizzy). We have a small selection of beer, but you may bring wine. We are a small place with huge taste...nothing else quite like it.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best food on folly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have a weekend place on folly and unfortunately for us just discovered our true love of the wich doctor over the past year. What's unfortunate is that we spent 3 years eating at other places! The more we eat here the more we want to. Sometimes 2-3 visits a weekend and I talk about the food for hours on the drive home. Pizza is outstanding, all sandwiches we have had are great and the specials are divine. Most recently the beef and ginger noodles blew me away. Simply the best food on folly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    37
    10
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grove City, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband had the Asian beef special and loved it. I had the chicken and waffle sandwich and it was delish as well. Our friends had the shrimp po boy and a pizza. The atmosphere was welcoming and fun with just the right amount of conversation from the owner and employees so that we got 'local flavor' but had time to enjoy each other's company. The owner brought us out some chocolate bars he is working on producing after dinner. They were delightful as well and we ate every bite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but not the best in Folly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

The food "jerk pork" had a great flavor but much spicier than we anticipated. I liked the flavor of the food. Looked online and did not see all of the options available. Next time I would go there to try what looked like great options.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“pizza was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Im not a very adventurous eater,so we stayed with mainstream, Pizza! I think we didnt pay attention to the menu, it was a little small, but definetly good! The staff was very friendly and while its tiny its charming!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fabulous Folly find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is hands down the best food on Folly. Sure, it's just a little hole in the wall a block off the main drag, but the food is terrific. Our son loves the pizzas and insists on eating here as many times as we'll let him during a trip. The sandwiches just blow us away. From the best grilled cheese my wife ever ate to pickled shrimp that had me sore tempted to order a second one just for the sake of gluttony, the 'Wich Doctor has always done us right. Add the fact that the owners are incredibly nice, and you've got a great lunch or dinner experience coming your way.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 'Wich Doctor also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The 'Wich Doctor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 'Wich Doctor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.