We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighting our visitors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tideline Tours, LLC

Tideline Tours, LLC
66 W. 9th Street, Folly Beach, SC 29439
+1 843-813-5009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Activities in Folly Beach
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the Salt Marsh surrounding Folly Island aboard a choice of two coast guard-inspected vessels. Experience coastal scientist-led adventures to several points of natural beauty and historical significance. Listen through our underwater hydrophone system as dolphins communicate. Families and groups experience a flexible, lightly structured venture through the beautiful lowcountry saltmarsh. Shelling on a secluded beach is always an option.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Folly Beach, South Carolina
1 review
“Delighting our visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We live on Folly Beach and get many visitors. We always include a trip with Captain Anton in the itineraries of our guests. From young to old, from city slickers to outdoor enthusiasts, they all come away delighted with the experience. And though we have gone many, many times, we look forward to the next excursion. The adventure is always new and exciting. The captain is friendly and knowledgeable and his enthusiasm for what he observes is contagious. Don't miss this wonderful opportunity to see a very special part of the Lowcountry!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holly, Mi
1 review
“Tideline Tours Saltwater Marsh Excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Couldn't have had a better adventure! Explored the marshes, rivers, and tidal creeks with Captain Anton and friends. Saw lots of dolphins, water fowl, osprey, and even wood stork! We'll sign up for another excursion, when next in Folly. Highly recommend this.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Tideline Tours made our day 3/26/13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

It was a very cold, grey morning, capping off what had been a long weekend of pretty unseasonal weather - not the best way to end a weekend trip. We figured we'd make the best of it and try a dolphin tour as a treat for our 5-year-old son. What a treat it was! Sure, it was freezing and we were woefully underdressed (never believe the most optimistic weather forecast), but Captain Anton was all smiles - completely welcoming and enthusiastic. He'd had to cancel his tour the previous morning due to high wind, but today's wind wasn't quite as bad. He gave us the option: cancel the tour (with no fee/penalty) due to the cold, or go for it. We decided to go for it, saying we'd turn around when we got too cold. We're SO glad we went! Within 3 minutes of pulling out, we were seeing dolphins leaping and listening to Anton tell us a bit about their habits. We got a solid 20 minutes of the best dolphin watching I've ever done (and I've done a bit) before we headed out to check out the migratory birds and the pluffmud. Along the way Anton was incredibly friendly, lots of fun to talk with, and full of great information about Folly and its flora and fauna. He also let our absolutely thrilled son steer the boat for a little bit. We were having fun and would have loved to stayed out the full 2+ hours, but the cold was just to much for us; we headed in after about an hour. This wonderful tour on an otherwise dreary morning was a wonderful surprise - but Anton had another surprise waiting for us when we docked: no charge. Yep, we got an amazing, hour-long private tour for nothing. Anton said that if it hadn't been for us he'd never have bothered to go out that morning, so he was just glad we got him on the water. Wow! Needless to say, we're recommending Tideline Tours to everyone we know who's heading to Folly, and we're customers for life. Hey, Anton - see you next time we're in town!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpNorth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tideline Tours April 6th 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Can't say enough about our wonderful experience with Tideline tours. We had bad weather for a couple of days and had to keep rescheduling our trip. Easy to communicate with! Not only did we see dolphins, but he was able to give us information about why they were behaving the way they were --- fishing, etc. Got to hear them talk to each other when he put the microphone down, what an experience! He even pulled back around when someone on the boat spotted a group as we passed them. Couldn't have been any better if it had been my own boat! We loved the trip to the lighthouse, walking the beach and finding starfish and sand dollars and learning about the oysters.
Very personable and patient, would definitely not miss this!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
“Tideline Salt Marsh Tour April 3 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It was an early (9:30 am) departure and windy and a little cold. As Atlantic Canadians we had lots of layers put on and were warm the whole trip.

WARNING: Be Prepared and make sure you are dressed well. It is easier to take off clothes than to find them on the water.

We saw lots of birds both on shore and flying by, dolphins and 2 otters. Captain Anton was able to explain the characteristics of the various birds and their migratory details. We had a short 20 minute walk-about on Morris Island and I was able to photo my 208th lighthouse. Too bad erosion has left the lighthouse 1/4 mile offshore now and I could not get closer.

The trip was very smooth despite the strong winds. I personally got splashed once in the 2 hour trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tideline Tours, LLC also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Tideline Tours, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tideline Tours, LLC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.