We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Slow Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grill and Island Bar

The Grill and Island Bar
41 Center St, Folly Beach, SC 29439 (Formerly The Grill on the Edge)
+1 843-633-0143
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 28 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: The Grill and Island Bar is casual Folly Beach dining at its finest. Our menu offerings focus on fresh, local ingredients prepared with a fun, Folly twist. Enjoy grilled and fried fish and seafood, burgers and artisan sandwiches, light bites, salads and flatbreads. Eat indoors or on our huge covered patio with a cool ocean breeze. Then grab one of our signature cocktails and kick back to listen to local, live music and take in the breathtaking scenery. Open 7 days a week, serving lunch, dinner and weekend brunch.
Grove City, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, Slow Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a busy day and didn't get out to eat until late. The only place without a wait for a table was The Grill. We got seated right away but waited for service. Food was good - the flounder wrap is excellent and the fries are good. Service was poor - food came out without fries and the place wasn't crowded.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    63
    32
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Outdoor Seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our family of 4 ate dinner here and all were pleased. Drinks are reasonable and the outdoor seating is great for this beach town. Our server forgot our appetizer, but realized her mistake when she brought us our meals. So, she offered to still fill the order for free without us even asking. Friendly and homey feeling.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food at Folly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had lunch here and it was great. The food took a really long time to come out, which was odd because it was just lunch and it was not very busy. I had a grilled pimiento cheese, which was awesome, and my husband had a pimiento cheeseburger, and I didn't hear any complaints from him. The fries are fantastic: nice and crispy with lots of flavor. There were no leftovers at our table. Overall, a good place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service. I had the best jumbo fried shrimp ever! My husband had the flounder and it was delicious as well. Make this a stop on your trip!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at The Grill and Island Bar, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your dining experience with us! It pleases us to hear how much you liked your jumbo shrimp and your husband's flounder dish! We greatly appreciate your feedback- and please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious food, friendly folk, good price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I would say the portabello burger was likely the best sandwich I've had in my life. Even my kids liked the food, and they're hard to please! Definitely put this on your list. Yummers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill and Island Bar also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Grill and Island Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grill and Island Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.