We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Outdoor Seating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grill and Island Bar

The Grill and Island Bar
41 Center St, Folly Beach, SC 29439 (Formerly The Grill on the Edge)
843-633-0143
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 27 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Fresh, seasonal seafood, heaped with southern staples, like shrimp and flounder. We serve fantastic skewers, specialty burgers and a variety of lowcountry fare. The Grill on the Edge is becoming widely known for its local specialty, she-crab soup.Join us for brunch, lunch and dinner. We offer a comfortable, casual, family atmosphere & plenty of parking. Our great, big outdoor patio area is a wonderful place to dine and enjoy our featured bands. We also offer shagging nights on the patio where you can kick off your shoes and dance the night away!
Rochester, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Outdoor Seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our family of 4 ate dinner here and all were pleased. Drinks are reasonable and the outdoor seating is great for this beach town. Our server forgot our appetizer, but realized her mistake when she brought us our meals. So, she offered to still fill the order for free without us even asking. Friendly and homey feeling.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    59
    24
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food at Folly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had lunch here and it was great. The food took a really long time to come out, which was odd because it was just lunch and it was not very busy. I had a grilled pimiento cheese, which was awesome, and my husband had a pimiento cheeseburger, and I didn't hear any complaints from him. The fries are fantastic: nice and crispy with lots of flavor. There were no leftovers at our table. Overall, a good place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service. I had the best jumbo fried shrimp ever! My husband had the flounder and it was delicious as well. Make this a stop on your trip!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at The Grill and Island Bar, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your dining experience with us! It pleases us to hear how much you liked your jumbo shrimp and your husband's flounder dish! We greatly appreciate your feedback- and please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious food, friendly folk, good price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I would say the portabello burger was likely the best sandwich I've had in my life. Even my kids liked the food, and they're hard to please! Definitely put this on your list. Yummers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrible service and cold food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is the only restaurant I have ever given a terrible rating. Our server was nice but slow and forgetful, and two of our four meals were cold. The food that was warm was bland and nothing special.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill and Island Bar also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Grill and Island Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grill and Island Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.