We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor Tiki Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blu Restaurant & Bar

Blu Restaurant & Bar
1 Center St., Folly Beach, Folly Beach, SC 29439
843-588-6658
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blu Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 27 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Artic Street
Transit: Guests of BLU Restaurant & Bar may use the Tides Hotel parking lot free of charge on a space available basis.
Description: Few restaurants in Charleston offer oceanfront dining. None offer the unique experience you"ll find at the brand new BLU.Set alongside the beach at the Tides Folly Beach, BLU combines indoor and outdoor seating featuring an amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean from almost every seat. Enjoy fresh local seafood showcasing the finest in contemporary coastal cuisine as well as an eclectic assortment of small plates perfect for sharing. Casual yet gracious, BLU is the ideal setting for a romantic dinner for two or an enjoyable night out with friends. Sit back, watch the waves roll in and enjoy the cool ocean breeze as we serve you the most delectable food around. With a casual beach bar and comfortable restaurant seating, BLU is where you want to be in Charleston.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outdoor Tiki Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I can't say much about the sit down restaurant but the outdoor Tiki bar has an awesome day time vibe. We had a group of 20 on a bachelor party and ended up staying at this bar for a whole day after surfing. The bartenders were fun and kept up with our pace of eating/drinking. It turns into a bit more formal at night but we were ready to leave by 5pm anyways.

It's a bit pricey but you can't beat the location and waterfront view.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    77
    36
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Poor service and overpriced menu”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

For the poor service: Hostess 'forgot' us (her words) and left us waiting in the bar for 45 minutes.
Waiter brought menus and water and promptly disappeared. About 15 minutes later he arrived, took our order and disappeared again. Food arrived about 40 minutes later.
This is where this experience goes from poor to terrible.
3 scallops on a bed of gooey bland risotto for $26.
A cup of thick inedible she crab soup
The smallest portion of shrimp and grits ever.
We had to get another server to bring us refills and coffee. No one asked how our food was or if we needed anything.
Our server showed up again to bring the bill and left in a flash.
Although this place tries to appear to be an upscale restaurant serving food locally grown they have really missed the boat here.

Maybe this was just an off night but it was without a doubt terrible and we will never eat there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful oceanfront views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The food and service were both excellent. They had a vegan hummus appetizer that was excellent. They also made me a vegan platter of fresh grilled vegetables with fingerling potatoes that were the best potatoes I have ever had! The hostess was nice enough to even move a table for us by the ledge!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ocean front dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Blu is located in the Tides hotel just down from the Folly Beach pier. We went for a light dinner. We sat on the deck overlooking the beach and ocean. I had mussels and my wife had the braised short ribs with Geechie boy grits and pine nuts. Both were excellent. The service was up to expectations. There is a full menu and inside dining. Worth a visit and I will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“drove over from Charleston for nice dinner and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

we orginally had a boat trip scheduled so I made reservations for dinner. It rained so we still kept the dinner reservations and drove over from historic Charleston. We had drinks in the many bars and had a very nice dinner. The food was beautifull and great tasting, trigger fish. Appetizers a little small , but that is the way it is now.Decor was very nice & beachy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Blu Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blu Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.