We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blu Restaurant & Bar

Blu Restaurant & Bar
1 Center St., Folly Beach, Folly Beach, SC 29439
843-588-6658
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blu Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Artic Street
Transit: Guests of BLU Restaurant & Bar may use the Tides Hotel parking lot free of charge on a space available basis.
Description: Few restaurants in Charleston offer oceanfront dining. None offer the unique experience you"ll find at the brand new BLU.Set alongside the beach at the Tides Folly Beach, BLU combines indoor and outdoor seating featuring an amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean from almost every seat. Enjoy fresh local seafood showcasing the finest in contemporary coastal cuisine as well as an eclectic assortment of small plates perfect for sharing. Casual yet gracious, BLU is the ideal setting for a romantic dinner for two or an enjoyable night out with friends. Sit back, watch the waves roll in and enjoy the cool ocean breeze as we serve you the most delectable food around. With a casual beach bar and comfortable restaurant seating, BLU is where you want to be in Charleston.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Great burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Servioce is excellent and the breakfast buffet is wonderful and nicely priced for a hotel. But at the end of the day they have one of the best burgers to take the edge off after a day in the sun working up an appetite.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    71
    30
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Brunch...But Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Tides so we decided to give Blu a try for brunch...we were lured in by $4 mimosas and bloody Mary's.

My husband and I each had one drink each and eggs benedict with lump crab meat - very good! My teenage daughters each ordered sandwiches or wraps which were also good and the service was excellent. Our only complaint is the price...it was over $80 with the tip! That's a almost double what we paid for at other local restaurants for breakfast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

First time at this restaurant. Started with a double espresso martini - strong and amazing. Mussel appetizer and catfish entree were great as was the brownie Napoleon dessert. My brother enjoyed the shrimp and grits. My aunt had the beef tenderloin - perfectly cooked.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery for drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We enjoyed drinks after dinner with friends here while we stayed at Folly. It is a beautiful place to talk and sit -- the outside bar is on the beach, and there is bar seating and adirondack seating around little firepits. I will say, as the evening wore on, the music was turned up so loud we couldn't hear each other any more. I don't know how the people staying in the hotel slept! We left at that point, but prior to that, it was very nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Atmosphere great...food ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice relaxed atmosphere, right on the beach. Good thing we like dogs, since there were several dining right at their owner's tables. Had a watermelon martini that was really good! Food was pricey for " average".

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blu Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Blu Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blu Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.