We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tides Folly Beach to your Saves list
Tides Folly Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bottle of Sparkling Wine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Homewood, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Spring Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Super location, right on the beach with the pier right next door. Although the weather was a bit uncooperative (cold and rainy) we made the best of it. Close enough to downtown Charleston and some really fantastic restaurants, we found it to be a great place to stay. The hotel was clean, staff was very friendly (Hanna) and helpful (thanks Greg).

We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
I’m glad that you were able to make the most of your stay at Tides despite the weather. Thank you for all your compliments and for taking the time to recognize Hanna and Greg specifically. It really means a lot to our crew when they get this type of recognition and we look forward to playing host for your Spring Break getaway next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    246
    123
    55
    32
See reviews for
258
309
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Great location at Folly. You can walk to many restaurants plus the pier is right in front. Great sandy beach. Rooms redone but a little bit of the old shows through. All rooms are directly waterfront with great views. The balconys are not large enough for furniture but still make the rooms special. Best part of the rooms is the fantastic view. Open the sliding glass door and hear the ocean roar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, your view and the town of Folly Beach during your recent getaway! Thank you for sharing your experience here and if you have any suggestions on what we can do to better your experience in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and we’ll work to make your next stay worth of a five-star recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Afer a unusual southern winter we need a beach weekend! Decided to try Folly Beach Charlston area. Booked a room at Tides a very nice hotel right on folly island with all the flair! Nice accomodation, Great relaxing beds, nice pool with sea view and of course great lloking people suning! :) Walking distance to several grea shopes and more. A must get away for all!

Room Tip: Ask for Beach view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
What a great review! Thank you for sharing your experience at Tides Folly Beach and for all your wonderful compliments. We look forward to serving you on, what we hope, will be many future getaways to the Edge of America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The location of this hotel is great being right on the end of main street in Folly Beach (makes for easy walking access to restaurants and bars) and directly on the beach. The hotel looks great when you check in and has a coffee bar serving Starbucks products as well as the Blu dining room (separate review) and lounge. The rooms had a great beach view but the balcony was barely wide enough to sit on. The reason I only rate it a 3 is that one day our room was not made up at all(promptly taken care of when we called) and the second day our door was not properly closed once cleaned, luckily nothing was taken. Also there was always water lying on the walk outside our room even though it was not raining which could lead to slippery shoes and extra tracking in the room.

Room Tip: The higher the better view but be prepared for slow elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tides during your recent getaway and for your compliments of our amenities, location and restaurant. Thank you for bringing the housekeeping miscues to my attention. Those have been addressed with the appropriate parties and we will continue to work with and train our staff so that these sorts of shortcomings do not occur with our guests in the future. We look forward to offering you the five-star experience you desired and deserved, this time around, on your next vacation to Folly Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Its a OLD Holiday Inn. The room was fair a bit dated, the bathroom was from the 60's , stained walls old tiles broken stuff .
I requested a high up room 8 months in advance and got the first floor room with two ac units outside my room. The place was full.....another problem , they had weddings and parties every day, the parking lot was full, over flowed into the street. I had to find a spot in the street at 2 am near the hotel. I was scared to move my car for days ! Rent one of the many homes or condos

Room Tip: rent a condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for giving us a chance by staying at Tides Folly Beach. It is our goal to set the standard in customer service excellence all while providing amenities and experiences our guests cannot find elsewhere in the Charleston area. We regret that we fell short of that goal and we were unable to live up to expectations of the author of this review. Unfortunately, we could not accommodate the request for a room on one of our higher floors. This is never guaranteed but I am disappointed that this reviewer was not pleased with our attempted recovery with a complimentary upgrade.

Tides Folly Beach is centrally located in the business district of Folly Beach where weddings and parties are regular occurrences. For anyone wishing to stay on Folly Beach, we ask that you take this into consideration when making your reservations. If a quiet, more relaxing stay is what you desire, renting a house elsewhere on the island could, very well, be the best decision. We would love to have the opportunity to serve this guest again but understand, completely, that Tides Folly Beach isn’t for everyone.

I am always open to suggestions from our guests on what we can do to add value to our rooms during peak and shoulder seasons as well as any specific “updates” they would like to see so please do not hesitate to contact me directly with your ideas! Our bathrooms are currently fitted with brand new bathroom light fixtures, granite counter tops, towel racks and tubs and feature PURE bath amenities. The flooring in each room is just over one year old. All rooms come with 32”flat screen TV’s, local art work/photography, mini-frigs, radio alarm clocks and coffee makers with Starbucks Coffee amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirtz, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We live at Smith Mt. Lake in VA. I sell boats and we like to get away right before our busy season starts and right after it is over. This years spring trip, we choose Charleston. We also love being at the beach. I heard Folly Beach described as a 'Sort of Funky, Beach and Surfer town', Whats not to like about that description. Found Tides right in the Smack dab middle of everything. Stayed four days, First night was a little noisy as there was a party going on in the next room till about 100am. Next 3 nights were nice and quiet. Hotel staff was excellent, day manager 'Jay' knew our names by day 2.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are equal. All rooms are Oceanside I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
I am happy that you were able to fit a vacation into your busy schedule and that you chose to spend that time with us at Tides Folly Beach! Thank you for all your compliments, not only of the town, but of our staff and your accommodations. I have passed your shout out along to Jay and he says “thank you” for the personal mention. We look forward to being your hotel of choice on future getaways to the Edge of America!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We just got back from staying the past 4 days at Tides. We wanted to go to Charleston, but also wanted to be near the beach. So after researching a lot of places, I finally decided on Tides, and it was a great choice. We fell in love with Folly Beach. It was so peaceful, with plenty of great resturants and shops all within walking distance. The rooms were very clean, and they had a great view of the ocean and pier. It was amazing for sunrises and sunsets. The staff was very friendly, and always made us feel welcomed. It was just a 10-15 minute drive to downtown Charleston, and of course there is always plenty to see, do, and eat there as well. We really enjoyed our stay, and will definantly be back again!

Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room on the 5th floor or above if you want a great view of the ocean or pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing Tides Folly Beach above all others as your home-away-from-home during your trip to Charleston! I’m happy to hear that you fell in love with our little beach town and I thank you for your compliments regarding our staff, housekeeping services and location. We are all looking forward to your next visit to the Lowcountry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only full service beachfront hotel in the Charleston area, Tides Folly Beach features 132 classically appointed oceanfront guest rooms, each with either one king-size bed or two double beds. Our Oceanfront Superior Rooms feature private Juliette balconies while our Beachfront Rooms feature semi-private patios with exclusive access to our pool and beach. Every guest of Tides Folly Beach is guaranteed a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean. Our on-site restaurant, BLU, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner every day with a special room service menu and the outdoor oceanfront bar is the perfect spot for a cold afternoon beverage. Check out our brand new on-site coffee shop, Roasted, where We Proudly Serve Starbucks Coffee. The outdoor pool is heated year round. Guests of Tides Folly Beach may also take advantage of our off street parking, fitness center, business center and complimentary wireless internet. Come join us at Tides Folly Beach where every day is another day in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tides Folly Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.