We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long in the Tooth, But a Decent Place to Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tides Folly Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tides Folly Beach to your Saves list
Tides Folly Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Long in the Tooth, But a Decent Place to Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

A group of us folks from a Lowcountry plantation just down the coast rode up to Folly Beach to check out what is clearly one of the better beach towns for a hundred miles around, where everything, including restaurants and bars, live music dives, shops and, of course, the beach, are within walking distance of the hotel. So what's the best hotel at which to stay? Well, the Tides, and being that it's really the only big hotel in town, that's where we stayed. As the title says, Tides is getting a little old and weary, but it still works. Just stay out of the stairwells where you can really see all of the corrosion and deterioration, which also shows up elsewhere, including in the rooms, on metal things. Well, it is on a salt water beach, so it's no surprise. The rooms are a bit worn, but there was nothing horrible about them... except for the awful drone of the A/C unit - couldn't sleep with it and couldn't sleep without it, given the high humidity. The equipment must be decades old. What was good? The staff, nice friendly competent people who did everything to make our few days stay a positive experience. What else? The Blu restaurant (reviewed elsewhere) at which we had a great dinner one night during the storms. Their breakfast buffet was also pretty good, too. Just $12. Good coffee? Go buy it. A USA Today? Go buy it. All such things that you'd find at a Hampton Inn are not included. What is? A decent and very convenient swimming pool and, the raison d'etre, the beach, right out back, with rentals for beach chairs, wave runners and what not. The Atlantic Ocean, some decent waves and the glorious Carolina Sunshine were included at no extra charge. Would we go back? Yes. Is it worth, say, $250 a night? Yes, $100 for the hotel and $150 for the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor and higher are farther from the large A/C units on the roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
It’s always good to have locals pay us a visit on Folly Beach for a quick staycation! Thank you for choosing Tides and for detailing your experience here on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your compliments of our staff and of Blu Restaurant as well. I’m happy that you were able to take full advantage of all our amenities as well as the many offerings in the town of Folly Beach. We are all happy that you found a good value in your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you on, what we hope, will be many more future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    217
    120
    55
    30
See reviews for
236
268
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Tides in June of 2013. It is the only resort on the Folly beach coast. It is an older style hotel that use to be a Holiday Inn. That being said, they have done a remarkable job being and keeping this up to date. It is on the pricey side, but it has no competition. The staff is very friendly and kind to the guests. The room we had was with a King sized bed, plus a small sofa sleeper. There was also a fridge inside of the entertainment cabinet. The bathroom had a granite topped vanity and a newly installed tub/shower, and it was very clean. The only minor mention was the WiFi was not reliable, this could have been due to a strong thunderstorm that occurred the first night we were there. My only negative comment is that we had to turn the AC down to it's lowest setting to make it comfortable in our room. It probably will need replacing soon. One other mention, the balconies do not have chairs on them which would be a nice feature if you want to set outside for sunrise or sunset views.

The Tides does have some rules...and ones that I appreciate. They do not allow people in the hotel without some type of cover-up, shirt & shoes. If I am paying the price that I paid, I want a family resort feel without the beachcomber slob look. There were many families that were there enjoying the pool and beach and ever with the amount of families the hotel was quite. The Tides does have a good sized pool, The pool had a lot of seating and we had no problem finding chairs.

There is a on property restaurant, but we did not go there for our dining. However, the restaurant did deliver food to anyone poolside, and I must say the sandwiches and fries did look good. If your looking to rent a couple of chairs and an umbrella they sell them near the outdoor bar, I think we paid $20 for half a day. It was well worth it!

The outdoor bar was nice with a deck the is adjacent to the restaurant. Plenty of seating to enjoy the sun or set out at night and enjoy a cocktail. We will be back the the Tides someday in the future, hope it is still as good as it was during our stay.

Room Tip: A room above the pool and on the first or second floor may be a little noisy. Try to get a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for providing such a detailed account of your recent stay at Tides Folly Beach! Your feedback is welcome, appreciated and very informative to future guests of our hotel and restaurant. Thank you for taking advantage of all we have to offer and we promise we will keep working hard to make your next visit with us as good (most likely even better) as this vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived at Tides to be greeted by Jay. What a terrific guy. He helped us unload our bags, took us to our room, then proceeded to answer any questions we had about the island. He then helped get our car parked, as it was very busy . Every time we saw Jay, he spoke to us , and ask us about our day. He seemed sincere and not just being polite. The people at the front desk were always super friendly too. Also very polite. The view from our room was fabulous. We spent a lot time looking out at the water. The music at the outdoor bar was very good . Christy Snow Duo. We enjoyed listening to them . The drinks were also very good. The beach was always very clean . We watched a crew clean it and straighten everything up everyday. How nice!!! The only minor problem was housekeeping. They did not leave us toiletries until we were totally out. And I had to call the front desk for coffee once because they left decaf. Other than that, enjoyed staying here very very much!! Very very friendly!!!!!!!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to compliment our staff, Jay specifically! I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, your view, and the drinks and music at Blu. I apologize for the oversight in making sure your room was fully stocked with amenities but am happy that we were able to resolve those matters quickly so you could continue enjoying your time with us. We look forward to meeting you again on your next visit to Folly Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The location is great and staff are friendly. We checked out a day early, though, because the room is so damp and the air conditioner is way too loud. It is impossible to sleep with it running - it is like having a big truck turning on and off in the room all night long. There is mold in the ceiling, broken exhaust fan in the bathroom, broken safety chain on the door, and paper thin walls. Our next door neighbors brought in a barking dog, adding to the general noise pollution. The parking is also inadequate for the number of guests, so we've spent a good bit of time roaming the streets for a place to park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We thank you for choosing to stay at Tides for a few nights and thank you very much for your compliments of our staff. We regret that the issues you experienced with the AC and noise resulted in a decision to leave early. I sincerely wish we had the opportunity to discuss these problems while you were here as I am positive we could have resolved these concerns. Please accept our apologies for our shortcomings during your stay and know that I am willing to discuss any matters directly with all our guests before, during and after your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

While at Tides the staff was very helpful and friendly. We were expecting more for the price. It was more like paying for location. Our room was spacious, bathroom was pretty clean, and we had a nice view of the ocean. There was however mildew/mold on the ceilings and on our lamp shade. There wasn't a fan in the bathroom which made the room stuffy after a shower. If your top priority is being beach front this is your place. The beach was very nice.
Next time we are in the area we would think about renting a house/condo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for making the Tides Hotel your hotel of choice on your recent vacation! We appreciate your compliments of our staff as they do work very hard to make everyone’s stay fun and memorable. Please accept our apologies for the cleanliness of your room as it pertained to mold. We have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping staff so that this type of oversight may be avoided with future guests. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you on future visits to Folly Beach whether you stay with us or choose to rent a vacation home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The rooms are large, clean with comfortable beds, with the best view of the pier and ocean on the island! There's a nice lobby where you can relax, read a book and enjoy the view, and the restaurant/bar had a great breakfast buffet and good drinks and friendly staff. Although it rained the weekend I stayed there, there was an area on the patio to take cover out of the rain but still enjoy the view, and the staff was very helpful and attentive, especially Jay who always said hello and went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed!! Highly recommend Tides and Folly beach!! Don't forget to have a drink at Sunset Cay and Loggerheads while visiting too.
DT-El Segundo CA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for this amazing endorsement of Tides Folly Beach! We are happy to hear that you found your accommodations spacious and comfortable. Thank you for your compliments of our staff and of Jay specifically. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you and those you recommend on future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We requested an oceanfront room as high up as possible. We enjoy taking pictures of the ocean when storms are coming. Weather predicted thunderstorms that night. The reservation person who took my credit card number assured me that an oceanfront high up room was available. When we arrived we found ourselves on the second floor where a row of palm trees totally blocked our view of the ocean. We went to the desk to request another room, of course no one cared and they said they were full. The room was expensive. The lock on our door didn't work and they had no balcony chairs, not that one would sit out there. I will never go back. They did not mind taking my money
.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian_D_Ross-TFB, Manager at Tides Folly Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tides for your beach vacation this year. All rooms at Tides are oceanfront and feature small walkout balconies. Specific floors are never guaranteed. We work very hard to fulfill all special requests for our guests. Unfortunately, in this case we were unable to fulfill that request and it is regrettable that the high floors being booked resulted is a negative experience for the author of this review. I encourage the author of this review to contact me directly so I may work with them on any future accommodation requests at Tides Folly Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tides Folly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Folly Beach

Address: 1 Center Street, PO Box 68, Folly Beach, SC 29439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Folly Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Folly Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tides Folly Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only full service beachfront hotel in the Charleston area, Tides Folly Beach features 132 classically appointed oceanfront guest rooms, each with either one king-size bed or two double beds. Our Oceanfront Superior Rooms feature private Juliette balconies while our Beachfront Rooms feature semi-private patios with exclusive access to our pool and beach. Every guest of Tides Folly Beach is guaranteed a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean. Our on-site restaurant, BLU, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner every day with a special room service menu and the outdoor oceanfront bar is the perfect spot for a cold afternoon beverage. Check out our brand new on-site coffee shop, Roasted, where We Proudly Serve Starbucks Coffee. The outdoor pool is heated year round. Guests of Tides Folly Beach may also take advantage of our off street parking, fitness center, business center and complimentary wireless internet. Come join us at Tides Folly Beach where every day is another day in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tides Folly Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Folly Beach Hotel Folly Beach
Holiday Inn Folly Beach
Folly Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tides Folly Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.