We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, Poor Cleaned Hotel ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2690 David McLeod Boulevard, I-95 at I-20, Exit #160, Florence, SC 29501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Florence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, Poor Cleaned Hotel ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We arrived after dark in Florence, and easily found the Red Roof Inn. Typical check in experience with a pleasant front desk associate .

At first look, the room appeared fine . But there was a lot amiss after moving in our bags. First, the carpet was stained in places and had not been vacuumed effectively. Particles were still on the floor, especially close to the walls. The bed had a duvet on top that had visible stains that made me wonder about the rest of the bed--we removed it and put it aside. No one could miss this , especially the cleaning staff.

The bathroom was gross. When closing the door , there was long black hair and dust balls highly visible--someone has not cleaned behind the door for more than one day, and equally troubling, the toilet was unclean and had hairs on it.

Gross.

The cleaning associate definitely needs additional training, and the supervisor clearly did not conduct a quality review on this room.

Also, bagged trash was laying on the hotel grounds around the perimeter of the hotel.

I have been happy with the Red Roof room upgrade initiative , but upgrades alone cannot compensate for inattention to basic cleanliness .

Will definitely not return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
I would like to apologize for the cleanliness of your guest room, and would like to let you know that I will address this with my staff immediately. I thank you for your comments and hope that you will give Red Roof another chance.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Florence, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    36
    24
    14
See reviews for
67
53
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I decided to try out this Red Roof Inn for a number of reasons. The usual place was tired and in need of a facelift. In addition, it was closer to my cousins house, five minutes, and there is no charge for the Cats. Matter of fact it was close to everything! I was glad I did. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a great space for me and the Cats as well as quiet for sleeping.
It was also unimportant that there was no breakfast and no frills. It was perfect for sleeping and showering, and keeping the Cats happy. However there is coffee in the lobby. Will definitely return next visit.

Room Tip: Room around back are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Florence. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Florence, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I'm just going to point everyone towards tiaP2013's review below. We feels the same way. Red Roof is fast becoming our motel of choice: they accept our dog with no hassles and no extra cost; rooms are clean; free wifi; reasonable price. The Florence, SC Red Roof is keeping the streak going. Thanks, folks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We really appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Florence. We looked forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Florence, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Accomodations were acceptable for a single night stay. Clean and comfortable. Evening staff seemed rather bored and uninterested. When I visited the front desk with an inquiry I felt as though I was a burden.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I would like to apologize for the customer service that you received during your stay. I would like to thank you for your comments. Corrective actions will be taken immediately with my staff to prevent this from happening in the future to there guest. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Florence, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lachute, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Clean, Friendly inexpensive and is close to tons of restaurants and stores. It is pet friendly too! 2nd time here and am not disappointed...Always quiet nice surrounding area and is right across the street from a mall and walking distance to many restaurants. Very nice room and enjoyed our stay...

Room Tip: close to hwy I-95 and is the best location to after travel activities!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Florence. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls]
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Florence, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Terrible. Terrible. Terrible. After a long day of driving we stopped at the Red Roof Inn for the night and we were given room 126. When we opened the door to the "smoke free" room we could smell the stale cigarette smell in the room. Adult Movies were being offered on the TV. We pulled back the bed spread and found a large stain of unknown substance (and I prefer to keep it that way, YUK) tried to call the front desk but there was no answer so we put our belongings back into the car and drove back the front desk. We told the lady at the desk that due to the dirty sheets we would like a refund. She did not say anything just gave us back our money and we left. No sorry, no customer service at all. We will never stay at ANY Red Roof again.

Room Tip: Bay Mount Inn and Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
I am sorry about your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Florence. I have addressed this with my housekeeping staff, and would like you to know that corrective action has been taken immediately . I appreciate your comments, and would like to invite you to give us another try.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Florence, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiefland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We traveled through Florence and spent just one night at Red Roof Inn.
Arrived late, very tired but welcomed by a warm and welcoming staff.

Good housekeeping staff! The room was in good order and smelled fresh. We had the quiet we needed to get a good night's sleep before getting back on the road again.

Our dog was welcomed as well and it is good to see that there are hotels that are "Pet Friendly". We have found that most are not. Either they prohibit pets or overcharge for a pet's stay.
Not Red Roof. We were very pleased with this stay.

Thank You!

Room Tip: If travelling with a pet, take a first floor, corner room if possible. It's convenient to the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks for your positive feedback about your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Florence. I will share your comments with my team. I appreciate that you found this pet friendly location to you satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Florence. SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center

Address: 2690 David McLeod Boulevard, I-95 at I-20, Exit #160, Florence, SC 29501
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.