We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently updated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2690 David McLeod Boulevard, I-95 at I-20, Exit #160, Florence, SC 29501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Florence
OBX, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recently updated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel has obviously been recently updated, and the rooms look great. Great price for the room. They do charge a small fee for the in room safe, but if it is not used, you can request the charge be removed. Lots of construction workers hanging around outside their rooms drinking and smoking. Not an issue for us, but some people may have been concerned. Great location in that you can walk to quite a few resteraunts. (Chilis, Olive Garden, Waffle House, Firehouse subs) Biggest issue we had was getting into the parking lot. There is a small road parallel to the main road and is difficult to see at night. You must turn down one road, make a u-turn, then turn to get on this small road. All in all, not bad for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Florence, SC
I am glad that you had a chance to see the new renovated rooms. We looked forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls
General Manager
Florence,SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    36
    24
    13
See reviews for
66
53
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, SC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had a trip planned and with the possibility of Hurrican Isaac hitting Florida, had to take my dog with me as kennels wouldn't accept boarders in case of evacuations. Friendly front desk agent who changed my room to a king. Very clean, comfortable room. Appears newly renovated. Many restaurants and stores within easy walking distance. A very good value for the price.

Room Tip: As for the building in the back, away from the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Florence. I appreciate your comments about our newly rennovated rooms and being 100% smoke free. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Florence,SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked this room as a stop from the North East heading to Florida. Looking at the bedbug registry there is a huge bedbug problem down route 95. This hotel was not on the registry. We got a superior room. The room was recently renovated it appeared. The sink was granite, and there was not a fleck of dirt anywhere in the room. I even took apart the bed to check for bugs and removed the pictures as well. There were no stains hidden or anything. The mattress was comfortable and linens soft. The room was plenty big for us and our two small children. The location is around 3 other higher end hotels and lots of shopping centers and restaurants. It did not seem unsafe.

Our pros were Clean room, Lots of space, Nice AC (there is a thermostat for heat if you need it), Hubby loved having the car outside to grab things easily for the kids through the night, Really nice amenities for the price. We paid motel prices got what we paid for and MORE.

The Cons... They only had one pack N Play. We had requested it. When we got in the room it was left for us to set up. It was torn and dirty. The lady at the desk admitted no one asks for a Pack N Play or crib. There is a Babies R Us Literally next door. When they knew how gross the pack N Play was I wish they were willing to grab a new clean one. We ended up putting the kids in a bed together and using the chair as a bed rail. That made of an interesting night. The other con was the housekeeping must love Febreeze because the room really stunk like febreeze. I really do not like that smell all that much. But after a couple hours I got used to it. When it comes down to it I would like a fresh clean room and tolerate a febreeze smell for that in a heart beat. The only other issue we had was finding the entrance to the hotel. But that is nothing to fault them about. There are so many hotels its deceiving where the road actually is to turn in.

Overall Stay here if you are driving down south and want a nice clean place to stay. It really was worth it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
I would like thank you for your comments regarding your recent. I appreciate all your feedback, and will address the concerns mentioned especially purchasing new pack and plays for guest. once again thank you for bring this to my attention.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Florence,SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartow, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

On a recent trip from Florida to upstate New York...we chose to use Red Roof Inn as they advertised being "Pet Friendly" as well as "No charge" for a pet. We have a small well behaved dog who is crate trained and we hate to pay more for a confined pet as you would for an extra person! Anyway, we were given a friendly greeting and this motel has been updated and was clean and provided everything we needed for a good night's rest. There was a wonderful restaurant right next to the parking lot for a convenient supper! Thanks Red Roof!

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe Room with two queen beds, microwave and small refrigerator...it was handy as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback about your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Florence. I am glad that you experienced the newly renovated rooms. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Florence,SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The hotel has been recently updated and was very clean. The rates are reasonable given the updates. However, the AC unit was very loud and seemed to have an odor to it. During the night, my wife was woken up by something crawling near her face. She swatted it away thinking it was a moth. The next morning, I discovered a large, badly injured cockroach on the floor near our bed. I am going to assume that this was an isolated incident and give the hotel three stars as the room was clean besides the cockroach sighting. The Civic Center Florence exit off of I-95 provides many dining and hotel options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn Florence. I will address the palmetto bug issue with our commercial pest control company immediately. Again thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We travel to and from NY from Florida every summer and for the second time on our return trip...we have stayed here. To our surprise...all rooms are now smoke free...woohoo!!! We paid about $61 (that is with taxes included) for two double beds and wi-FI! The hotel is pet friendly, which is what we were looking for. All rooms are with doors leading to the parking lot...I like this as I want to back our car up as close as possible to our room's door!

At check out, make sure to tell them to take the $1.50 safe surcharge off...they had no problem taking this off!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Room was ok, except for a noisy air conditioning unit. When my husband told the front desk clerk about it on checkout, she didn't seem to care.
Room was clean. It had been updated, except it had carpeting instead of laminated floor. There are plenty of eating choices nearby, as well as a gas station next door in case you want munchies.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tia S, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your reccent stay at the Red Roof Inn Florence. I appreciate you bring to our attention about the noise coming from the AC unit so that can be a addresssed immediately.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Tia Smalls
General Manager
Red Roof Inn Florence,SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center

Address: 2690 David McLeod Boulevard, I-95 at I-20, Exit #160, Florence, SC 29501
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Florence Hotel Florence
Florence Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.