We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean, and Spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Florence

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Florence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Florence
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1739 Mandeville Road, Florence, SC 29501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 38 hotels in Florence
Ponte Vedra, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, Clean, and Spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Traveling from MD back to FL after New Years arrived at this hotel for a one night stay. The front desk staff, Mrs Katlyn was very efficient, friendly, and professional even with several people in line. Our room was very spacious and clean. The morning breakfast area was well stocked with eggs, French toast, sausage, cereals, fruit, etc. The breakfast bar staff, Ms. Jeanette was quick to refill items, clean areas, and being very friendly. When I asked where her tip jar was she gave me a polite, "I don't have one." I still handed her a tip and told her to have a nice day. I have made Country Inn & Suites one of my favorite places to stay. Next stay is in Port Canaveral for our cruise departing January 26th.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    50
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
52
29
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
FenwicK Island, DE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stopped here on our first night while on our way to Florida. We did not have reservations and had been driving the last 5 hours in rain, often very heavy. There were 2 people in front of me. The evening shift front desk woman who was on duty 1/11 was very friendly and helpful to all of us. The room was clean and overall fine and most importantly, the bed was very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Lobby was really busy when we arrived, but the front desk staff was very friendly and efficient and we were checked in quickly. Coffee and cookies while we waited was nice after a long drive in the rain. Our room was large and very comfortable. Morning breakfast bar was well stocked and had some healthy options - in addition to the typical pastries. Coffee was actually good! After a really bad experience at another hotel, this will now be my regular stop off 95 on my way up the east coast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had driven all day in mist and very heavy traffic and decided to stop over in Florence. We did not have a reservation and felt lucky to nab a room at this hotel. The room itself was clean and comfortable. There was an inordinate amount of noise penetrating the walls though that did not cause too much aggravation. This hotel is right off the interstate and it was obvious that most people were much like us having traveled all day in route to or from and were interested in resting the night. We were up at 6 Am so we could get an early start for the remainder of our trip. Our intentions were to grab a quick breakfast and hit the rode, like the other 20 folks in the room set aside for breakfast. There was something strange thoufh as nobody in the room had food in front of them. There were breads, cereals etc laid out but no plates or utensils. The setup lady was there and she told us that the General manager had told her not to put out the food until 7 AM. Of course, for us and everybody else that came in early, that would mean that we would have to wait over 30 minutes for food, all because this brilliant GM decided that people on the weekends should not eat before the time she designated. I told the lady that we were ready to get on the rode but she claimed that she could only do what her GM told her to do, regardless of the fact that she had the food prepared and ready to set out and that there were 20 or so people waiting to eat before they resumed there trip. Now I ask you, is this not the most ridiculous and asinine GM rule for travelers that you have heard. It caused me so much disbelief that I have decided that Country Inn and Suites does not need our business any longer. AND THIS IS THE ONLY HOTEL CHAIN WE HAVE USED OVER THE LAST TWO YEARS SO THIS IS A LOSS OF BUSINESS FOR THESE FOLKS. Oh well! My suggestion would be that they retrain their General Managers to actually take care of their customers in all respects, especially when the majority of the guests are travelers!.

Room Tip: If you are traveling on a weekend and intend to get an early start, you can forget this hotel: go so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Florence, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We understand how important a quiet environment is and apologize for the noise issues that you experienced. Also, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast being available at an earlier time. Our goal is to ensure fresh food is provided and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I had a room with a King bed. The room was large and the sofa was very nice to have there. Price very reasonable. I have stayed in Country Inn once before years ago (not this location). I was satisfied then and was now as well. The friendly staff was a plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triangle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay. Got a good rate with my reward points. My son really liked the free cookies and the free breakfast. Close to restaurants. Liked the location since it was right off the interstate. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on 2 separate occasions during the week before Christmas. I rate it very good based on our interaction with the staff. Further, the hot breakfast was good. They offered waffles (make your own), scrambled eggs, meat (ham on one occasion, sausage on the other), oatmeal, bagels, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, juice...etc.

On the first occasion, the room was clean and neat. On the second occasion, the room wasn't completely tidy. We arrived very late and didn't feel like complaining because it wasn't too bad. We always take Lysol wipes with us and took 4 or 5 minutes to clean the counters, knobs, and tables and then felt perfectly comfortable. It was enough to bump down my rating from excellent to very good.

I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 209 is a good room for someone who is physically challenged. It is large and the shower has gri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Florence

Address: 1739 Mandeville Road, Florence, SC 29501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Florence 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Florence Hotel Florence
Country Inn And Suites Florence
Country Inn Florence
Florence Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.