We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Florence to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Florence
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Dunbarton Drive, Florence, SC 29501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Florence
Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I like the idea that you can have an internal or external entry room. Staff were very friendly and inviting. Price and location were just right. Clean hotel with good customer service. I'm in Florence about 4 times per year and will stay here again! Have found my home away from home when in town! Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Your feedback is so appreciated! We love to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We enjoyed hosting you and anticipate seeing you again soon- Your NEW Fairfield Inn Florence family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    52
    67
    52
    36
See reviews for
85
70
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spent a night here driving back from FL to NJ. Definitely not your average Marriott, but I wasn't as grossed out as everyone says they were. Rooms were basic, showed age but not awful. Staff was accommodating and very friendly. Would keep in mind for a cheap room while traveling, worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina M, Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I want to thank you so much for providing your feedback about your stay with us! I am glad you found the hotel a good fit for your hospitality needs. Safe travels and stop by again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Front desk had many excuses after not having my reservation in the computer. They blamed third party booking agencies such as Expedia, Bookit, Travelocity, etc... for overbooking them. Surely they realize that these are reputable companies. Anyway, they tried to charge me again after I had already told them I prepaid for my room through Bookit. It took over an hour to check in after driving all day from Philadelphia. The desk clerk was apologetic for the error. However, it shouldn't have taken 1 hour to get checked in. We wanted to stop halfway before heading back to Georgia. Big mistake. After the check in fiasco, the room was very small. The bathroom made me claustrophobic. I haven't seen a room with a big air conditioner unit in the wall in decades. It was hard to find the place since no lights were on, The Fairfield Inn signs were not on. The king bed could barely fit between the night stands. The room was clean. That is the only good thing I have to say. Otherwise, it was just somewhere to lay our heads to rest after 9 hours on the rode. I will not make another stop here. I expected better quality than this from a Marriott brand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel is in terrible shape. Noisy room, terrible odor in hall. Large spider in hallway on the way to room. Didn't feel secure. Had issues with the manager, when I tried to address the condition of the hotel. We prefer Marriott properties, but will take this one off our list for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, however, I am deeply sorry to hear you had a rare experience at our wonderful Fairfield Inn. I am the General Manager of the property and was not aware of your experience until your post on TripAdvisor. Since it is that muggy time of year in SC, we were having some issues with humidity in one of our hallways and unfortunately it sounded like that is what you experienced. We are one of the first Fairfield Inn's ever built and are dedicated to taking care of the property that we take pride in. Maintenance works very hard day in and day out to make sure our property is up to standards in good condition.

We honor, appreciate and take care of our Marriott Rewards travelers, and I would have been glad to upgrade you to another room had I been aware of your unfortunate circumstance prior to your departure. Please let me know next time you are in Florence, and I will personally upgrade you to one of our Superior Interior rooms on the 3rd floor and make sure you have an excellent second experience!

Sincerely,

Tina Middleton-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is an older hotel with smaller sized room and an older type air conditioner that was very noisy. Commode room was tiny. The elevator is located just inside the door with the front desk well beyond which made me a little uncomfortable for security but - - - bed was comfortable, breakfast standard Marriott fare. I was going for the Marriott points however would not stay here again. There are better choices in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband lives in Myrtle Beach and I currently live in Fayetteville and we decided to choose to stay with the Fairfield Inn Florence on our 2nd Anniversary, since it was about the half way point for us. We were so pleased with everything about this property! When we walked in, to our surprise, the lobby was beautiful and brand new! Our check-in was smooth and simple. The front desk was knowledgable about the surrounding restaurants and recommended a great steakhouse for us to celebrate at. When we came back from dinner, they offered to take our picture to capture us on our 2nd anniversary (see attached). We stayed on the 3rd floor, in an executive king and absolutely enjoyed it. We were happy to see they had a mini fridge where we could chill our champagne and also had a microwave where we could heat up our leftovers from dinner. The bed was comfortable, temp in room was nice and cool. The next morning we had a HOT breakfast together..they had eggs, sausage, potatoes, fresh fruit and everything else! After breakfast when we were checking out the staff was in the lobby singing a Fairfield Inn song during their morning huddle, which we thought was really neat and brought great energy to the property. Let's just say, we left on a "high note" and we would HIGHLY recommend this property to anyone traveling to the Florence area! Also, great location since it's right at the mall and walking distance to Mellow Mushroom, Outback Steakhouse, and many other restaurants. We will be coming back to stay for sure!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more to stay on the 3rd floor executive rooms! Interior access, more spacious, fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the first Fairfield I have seen with outside corridors. I think Marriott should take their name off this one! Rooms was pokey and musty. Definitely would not stay here again.
The one plus is that it is close the the highway and a few restaurants.

Room Tip: There isn't one at this property, go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Florence, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We take pride in our hotel and do apologize you felt your stay was less than satisfactory. We are one of the first Fairfield Inn's ever built, so the first two levels do indeed have exterior corridors, however you can choose to stay in one of our Executive Rooms on the 3rd floor, which are interior access only, if that is your preference. We do hope you stop over next time you are in the area and give us a second chance!

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Florence

Address: 140 Dunbarton Drive, Florence, SC 29501
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Florence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Southern Hospitality at the beautiful Fairfield Inn in Florence, SC. We are minutes away from Darlington NASCAR Raceway and the Florence Civic Center. Enjoy a day of shopping at Magnolia Mall, within walking distance of the hotel. We have a brand new lobby and new breakfast area where you can enjoy a delicious Hot Complimentary Breakfast. Our rooms have soft, comfortable beds and Flat Screen TV's. We feature interior Executive rooms with microwave and mini refrigerators located on the 3rd floor. Come relax by our outdoor pool and work out in our fitness room. We offer friendly exceptional service with comfortable rooms, great amenities, and complimentary high speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Florence Hotel Florence
Fairfield Florence
Florence Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.