We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We counted, and great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bamba

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Bamba
490 2nd Loop Rd, Florence, SC 29505
(843) 292-0055
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 229 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Florence, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We counted, and great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

It started out that maybe they were confused about who was waiting our table, but we were being served from all angles. Food was fresh, and you could tell the crowd was happy to be there. Sometimes you will dine out, and the establishment will be full of sour faces. Not the case at La Bamba's, everyone was happy to be there, and so was I.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Slightly Better Than Average Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Went here on a recommendation from a coworker who used to work in the area a lot. In the interior of the restaurant reminded me of many other mexican restaurants I've visited in the past. Not a good sign.

Ended up ordering a mushroom quesadilla. The quesadilla tasted fine..didn't blow me away, didn't taste any flavors that stood out. Just decent food that can fill your belly cheaply.

I may give this place another try and select something else off of the menu. I get the impression though that based on previous experiences with similar mexican restaurants of this calibre, I know exactly what I'm in for though, and probably won't be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheraw, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

The restaurant is your average mexican place. I have visited many mexican restaurants and this is about the same as the rest.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This is a wonderful restaraunt! The staff...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

This is a wonderful restaraunt! The staff is Fantastic! And the food is even better! You can always expect fast and friendly service. I recomend that you try the chicken soup (may get the pico on the side if you can't handle the heat.)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We have been going to this restaurant for several years. We know the staff--they're very friendly and efficient. The food is excellent! We always ask for a specialy spicy salsa, which they make fresh for us. Everything is tasty: from the cheese dip to the enchiladas to the chimichangas. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bamba also viewed

 

Been to La Bamba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bamba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.