We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cupcake craze is NOT over yet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet: A Cupcake Company

Sweet: A Cupcake Company
1257 Celebration Blvd., Florence, SC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 220 restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The cupcake craze is NOT over yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were just stopping for lunch in Florence, SC, on a roadtrip home from Folly Beach. After we ate lunch next door at Wholly Smokin' BBQ, we noticed the name and compelling sign for SWEET. Plus, we needed a little treat to enjoy on our journey of ten more hours in the car. Needless to say, two of us finished off four cupcakes within 30 minutes! DELISH.

The ambience of the café is very cute. Although we did not eat inside, there seemed to be adorable, little glass bottles from which to drink milk with your cupcake. The man staffing the store was informative on the flavors. Our favorites were coconut cream, and hummingbird cake. We also enjoyed the banana cream, and the clockwork orange.

My husband and I both work in the hospitality industry and have experienced many cakes and variations of cupcakes at events. SWEET is beyond compare. We will make this a return stop on our bi-annual trips back to SC. It is only about 2.5 miles off of I-95.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    14
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

It's Florence, so expectations weren't too high... Very friendly staff and nice ambiance, but cupcakes were a little dry. Frosting was good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty but expensive...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Three bucks for a cupcake is a little steep. Other than that, great cupcakes. On par with the cupcakes I get up north in a large city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“SWEET cupcakes & SWEET Laurie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The cupcakes are just part of the reason to visit SWEET! When you enter SWEET, Laurie treats you like an old friend. The welcome is warm and you leave feeling a lot better than you did when you came in. Go tell Laurie Hi & get a cupcake!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you like very sweet cupcakes served by friendly people this is the place. The woman at the counter was pleasant and its a nice place to sit and enjoy desert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet: A Cupcake Company also viewed

 

Been to Sweet: A Cupcake Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet: A Cupcake Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.