We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Inn to your Saves list
Thunderbird Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2004 W. Lucas St., Florence, SC 29501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Florence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Best motel I've ever stayed in. The food was AMAZING. everyone was super extremely nice. The rooms were clean, beds were comfy, and service was five star. The pool is always open, lit heated saltwater and totally clean. I can't say enough about how great this is. Rate is very low also.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    7
    12
    19
See reviews for
16
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We drove through the night and finally got very tired around 5:30 AM. We called a few places to see if they had late check-out, thinking we’d check in around 6 AM and check out around 2 or 3 PM. Most places either didn’t allow it, or charged extra (or were too expensive to begin with for our budget). We did find one place about 15 min from the Thunderbird for $35, but once we drove up it looked way too sketchy so we kept looking.

We finally saw the sign for the Thunderbird and decided to go in and ask about late checkout. They said we could actually stay until the next morning for no extra charge (NO other motels or hotels that we called or stopped in offered that), and with my AAA membership it was only $50. The room was clean and the beds comfortable (we used our own pillows). Everything worked (though we didn't try the microwave); it was nice to have the fridge in the room. The bathroom was a bit outdated and dingy I suppose, but fine and clean for $50. It was pretty quiet but there were so big trucks outside or room during different times. I didn't use the pool but did walk by it and it looked very clean and big. Breakfast was pretty good too, and included in the price. :) I’d definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our kids started pitching monster fits after being in the car too long. We were driving from DC to Florida and everybody had just had it. Our dog was with us so our options were severely limited. The Thunderbird said "ok," so Thunderbird it was.

Overall, I can't complain. Everything was clean, if not shabby. The staff gets five stars. The woman who worked at the front desk was fabulous! We ate at the buffet and thought the fried chicken was worth mentioning in this review.

I can't give it more stars though because ... well, I just can't. If you've stayed there then you know why.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff is amazing and that is as far as anything good goes. There was a white substance all over the bed skirt and corner of the bedside table. There was hair from someone shaving around the bathroom sink. The carpet is gross and the bedspread had cigarette burns. They did plant flowers and keep the grounds around the pool clean. We would have left but it was NASCAR weekend and we didn't know so this was the only room we could find for under $200. The toilet looks like a tiger had attacked it and there were ashes behind the tp holder. The breakfast was edible but nothin to rave about. I would have preferred bagels and cream cheese over the mystery meat I thought was ham.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Compared to Howard Johnson motel this place is 150% better. Cleaner better service and better breakfast.and no one stole articles out of my suitcase like they did at Howard Johnsons. I will stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was very disappointed in this motel, the rooms were old and dirty and there was a hole in the bathroom ceiling over the tub. The attached buffet restaurant was undesirable with a dirty floor. We did eat in the bar area and that was ok. For breakfast you had to pay for orange juice with the complimentary breakfast, never heard of such a thing!!
The location is ideal but that is all, they need to do a lot of remodeling!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were returning from Florida with a new pet dog. Wanted a location right off I-95 and needed a place to stay that would accept him. We have stayed here before, (last time 2003), so I checked pet policy, it stated they were allowed. Called and made a reservation to be sure it was okay (never traveled with a pet before). Reserved us a first floor room for ease of dog walking.
Inn is showing it's age, could use some updating. Room and sheets were clean. Bathroom could use a good scrubbing, Price was right and the hot buffet was included. Couldn't beat the food, including eggs made to order. The breakfast was hearty enough to last into the afternoon. Would stay here again. Staff was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Inn

Address: 2004 W. Lucas St., Florence, SC 29501
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Thunderbird Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.