We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1912 Enterprise Drive, Florence, SC 29501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Florence
Danville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We decided to stay here dispite of some negative reviews. We got a suite, and was very pleased with what we got for the price we paid. We encountered no problems, and staff was friendly. Six year old loved being able to see the train from the "window bed".

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    16
    8
    25
See reviews for
18
25
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Like others I have stayed at a few microtels in the past with
reasonable results. Not this time.

Staff was ok and as usual price was right. The room was not
too bad for cleanliness but the bed linens were not up to a
good standard of freshness and as clean as they could be.
The place was generally run down with more attention paid
to the outside appearance and more needed inside.

The big problem was the mildew smell. It was very strong and
for the most part coming from the A/C. It was actually really bad
and I couldn't wait to get some fresh air when we left in the morning.

I read the reviews prior and should have listened. But I don't like
to pay $100 for 1 night off the road.

The 1st floor ice machine was broken so my wife ventured up to
the 2nd for ice and she said it was worse up there. From how
she described it, it looked like it was being demode.

I would not advise a stay at this Microtel. Checked out the
Howard Johnson across the road 1st and it was worse. In
fact unless you want to spend $100 for a nice room I would
keep on moving and check another exit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

My advice to anyone about staying here, would definitely be don't do it! My husband, daughter, and I stayed here for a weekend because his company paid for it. The room is very tiny, it smells bad, and the walls and ceilings are paper thin. The staff is pretty friendly.
During our stay, we encountered a group of ten people in the back parking lot smoking marijuana. On top of that, there was a hooker walking around outside for the majority of the night. The staff did not say anything to her either.
The carpets are heavily stained and the beds in the hotel are about 20-30 years old. Also, if you have a problem with fluorescent lighting, the majority of the lights in the room are fluorescent.
The rates are very cheap, but my suggestion would to be spend the extra money for a nicer place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I haven't lost my mind -- it's not the Ritz.

First time in a Microtel, based on the report on Consumers Reports. Very small room, very small bathroom, clean, comfortable and cheap -- Including all taxes (and after AAA discount) the bill was $49 and change. The do not promise much, but they delivered to a "T". My wife (who is a Captain in the Clean Police) approved cleanliness.

We were traveling to Disney World and needed a place to stay, and it met our needs perfectly.

I wouldn't stay in a Microtel if I was in an area for several days, but for one night in transit, we would stay in another without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlehurst, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have regularly stayed at this motel for about three years now. Florence, SC is a good stopping point for us on our family road trips north on I-95. The price is extremely cheap for a "suite" style room. I wouldn't say that it's 10+ in terms of cleanliness, but we've never felt dirty or felt like the room was unclean. Ultimately, it's a economy hotel which provides a nice room for a cheap price. It's great for a stop over or even for a day or two. If you're staying longer and can afford it, you may look elsewhere, but we've never been disappointed at the one night stays we've had here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel should be Condemed; the first room 220; had hairs and smelled horrible. Then, they transfered me to room 212; and it was like walking back in time. The television took every bit of 15 secs to show a picture but, this room was at least cleaned. The mattresses was stained and nasty looking; but, they had a new mattresses cover on the bed. I promise you that i will share with everybody that i know; to never stay at this nasty prehistoric hotel ever. I went to the nearest Walmart to buy blankets, sheets,towels and wash cloths, and new pillows and also,i fumigated the entire room with lysol. The sad part about this whole experiences is that the employees were excellent and now, i look at all of the Microtel Inns as garabage.

Room Tip: Ask them to email current pictures of their rooms and/or ask a friend or family member to stop by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Book 2 rooms. Both parties when given the room key walked into other peoples room, with them in there. When given our 2nd room of the night it happend again. Was givenanother room and when we walked in toilet was flooding throughout the room. We started the checking in process at 10:30pm and finally got in to a decent room at 1am. Worst motel expierence ever.

Room Tip: Don not stay at this hotel. Spend the extra $10 and stay at the Ramada 1 block down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence

Address: 1912 Enterprise Drive, Florence, SC 29501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Florence
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham and Travelocity so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites
Microtel Hotel Florence
Florence Microtel
Microtel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.