We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff handled the large crowd well.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Hops

Southern Hops
911 South Sunset Acres Lane, Florence, SC 29501
(843) 667-1900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 221 Restaurants in Florence
Description: New Restaurant in Florence. Been open about a month. Florence's first microbrewery.
Restaurant details
Description: New Restaurant in Florence. Been open about a month. Florence's first microbrewery.
Florence, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Staff handled the large crowd well.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Good all around, tasty food, good brew, and staff very nice. Look forward to more veggie items added to the menu.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great beer and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

Great beer selection. Great food, limited selection though, but uses local produce. I'd go back next time I am in Florence.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza and fresh salads!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Fun atmosphere inside, though the outside looks like a warehouse. The whole wheat crust pizza was really delicious (and I'm a pizza snob). The salad was also much better than a standard side salad - homemade dressing, fresh green, ripe tomatoes with lots of flavor. I'd definitely go back.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“New favorite place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I recently moved to Florence from Seattle, WA which, yes, is a bit of culture shock. But Seattle is a city that takes its microbrews very seriously. I was worried that I might be giving up really good beer for a constant rotation of Bud or Bud Light. This was a stupid worry--Florence does have a number of decent bars and restaurants. But Southern Hops is easily as good, even better, than the majority of places that I frequented in Seattle. The food is relatively limited in selection, but is absolutely delicious. Most of the produce is local and therefore, really fresh. I don't know what the reviewer complaining about the cost was talking about--$8-11 for a entree, $4-8 for appetizers, seems more than reasonable. I mean, yes, it costs more than fast food, but that seems pretty standard for casual dining and the quality of the food here is far better than that. They only had three of their house brews on tap when I was there, but they also offer a large number of draft and bottled beers from across the country. If you go during happy hour, then their house brews are only $2.50 a pint! Cool atmosphere too--I didn't go when there was live music, but it's a great venue with a large amount of seating. Finally, the service is awesome! The wait staff is very chatty (in a good, fun way) and make great recommendations. I can't recommend this place enough! It alone was worth the move to Florence!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“highlight of a trip to Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Face it, there's not much to do in Florence, SC. We were stuck there cleaning out my mother in law's house, and after a dusty day of tossing & cleaning we were drawn to the chilled libations of a local brewpub.
Southern Hops is a cool little find, with decent food and really nice beer. The pretzel appetizer is amazingly good. Pizza, sandwiches, etc. complement the truly nice beer ... which you need after a hard day of work, or even a day of sitting in a hammock. SH has a nice outdoor area that opened after we left the area. We wandered in to 2 other restaurants in Florence during our week's stay, but Southern Hops' atmosphere, music, friendly service, and beer brought us back on the other nights.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Hops also viewed

 

Been to Southern Hops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Hops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.