We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Is Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Florence to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Florence
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2120 West Lucas Street, I-95, Exit 164, Florence, SC 29501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Florence
S E Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“New Is Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

The Comfort Suites in Florence is a fairly new hotel so you would expect everything to appear that way, new. And it is. It’s nice to stay at a hotel that hasn’t changed names a dozen times.

The lobby and breakfast areas were comfortable. The fitness room worked. The parking was adequate. And the room itself? Nothing wrong. Like I said, it’s new. A refrigerator is a great addition to a room and they are becoming more common all the time. The hard part is determining the right temperature setting on the dial, so we always bring a small thermometer to keep the food just right overnight.

Actually, the heating/AC controls were confusing. Wall mounted, digital controls should be easy to use but not this one. The old-fashioned style dials on the actual units were always simple to operate. Of course, you only find those types at hotels that have changed names a dozen times. But, this one was a challenge.

The only other negative aspect was check-in. The poor young woman behind the desk was trying to help a caller who must have insisted that a certain rate type was available for a room. After an awkward amount of time went by, the call ended. In the mean-time a line had gathered at the counter. Fortunately, I was first in line and the clerk did a good job holding her composure. It sure would be nice to have 2 clerks behind the front desk, especially during peak times.

Overall there is not much to improve on here and I would consider staying again, but keep in mind this is not the Waldorf Astoria.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    62
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
138
75
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

I encountered major problems when trying to use my Choice Priveleges points for a stay at this hotel. I made my reservation through the Choice Hotels website. I had a confirmed reservation for an accessible room with two beds. I requested this particular room type, because I was traveling with an 86 year old in a wheelchair

We arrived at this hotel at approximately 4:00 PM. I checked in and was directed to a room on the second floor. I was shocked to find that the room was not ready. All of the bedding was piled on top of the beds and the bathroom was not cleaned. I went downstairs and told the desk clerk that the room was not ready. He insisted that the room was ready. Again I requested another room and the clerk reluctantly assigned one to me. The second room was clean, but not what I had reserved. I went back to the front desk and told the clerk that this room was not what I reserved and needed. He checked the computer and reported, "You have the room you reserved." I showed him my email confirmation and again asked for the correct room. He responded, " It doesn't matter what your paper has on it. We go by what is in our computer." He called the assistant manager. Again I explained the situation. The manager said, "Too bad. There is nothing we can do. We don't have a room for you." I asked if they could provide lodging at another hotel. He called Choice Priveleges. I spoke with the representative at Choice Priveleges. All she could offer was an accessible room at another Choice hotel to the south for 2,000 points more or a room at a Choice Hotel, 47 miles to the west for the same points. I found these options unacceptable. She forwarded my call to Custome Relations. I explained my situation to the Customer Relations representative and exprressed my concerns about the uncaring, rude and argumentative nature of the staff at the Comfort Suites. This representative called the Comfort Suites staff to verify some information. He instructed me to obtain lodging at another hotel and forward the bill to Choice Hotels for reimbursement.

Luckily I was able to find lodging at a neighboring hotel. The staff there was very helpful and did everything in their power to enusre a pleasant stay at their hotel.

This Comfort Suites looks like a very nice hotel, but has some serious issues with customer service and treatment.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I stayed overnight in Florence en route from Connecticut to Florida. I looked at a number of options and was very lucky to have chanced upon the Comfort Inn and Suites. The hotel is new so the price was right. When I saw the room I was surprised it was under $100 for the night. (See attached photos). Breakfast buffet included fruit, yogurt, cereal, bacon, sausage, eggs, waffles, muffins, bagels, etc but impressively one worker was continuously present making sure the breakfast area remained cleaned and well-stocked. I wish I had taken a photo of this area as it is much nicer than similar hotels. I would definitely stay here again and wish I would chance upon similar hotels more often! It might also make a cozy romantic weekend getaway for a local couple.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

New hotel, very clean and beautiful room. Would stay here again. Nice staff.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

This hotel has it all together. From the friendly and helpful staff to the fresh popped pop corn in the lobby, to the fresh baked cookies at the check in counter, the clean rooms, to the wonderful pool and hot tub, everything in this hotel was terrific. It's location is just off I-95 and there are plenty of places to eat in the area. The hotel also serves a lovely breakfast, free of charge. I'd definitely make this a stop whenever it's on my route.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We choose this hotel because is was just passed the half way point for our drive to Florida. It is a brand new hotel and the rooms are lovely, sparkling and clean and very well appointed. The room we booked was a 2 quen beds with a pull out double sofabed. It was huge for our family of 5. The bathroom was very large and perfect for our family. The TV was a rather large flatscreen, we also had wireless internet and the breakfast the next morning was super. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Florence

Address: 2120 West Lucas Street, I-95, Exit 164, Florence, SC 29501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#8 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Florence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This State of the Art, beautifully designed, luxury hotel, off I-95 in Florence, SC has it all. We have an indoor pool, fitness center, business center, WiFi, Ethernet, and a complimentary hot breakfast. You won't be disappointed! We offer a decent rate, friendly staff, delicious food, wonderfully appointed Meeting Room with the latest in Audio/Visual Technology. This property is of such high quality, no wonder it was named Choice Hotels International, 2011, Rookie of the Year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Florence Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.