We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives Up to the Hype of America's #1 BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Po Pigs Bobq

Po Pigs Bobq
2410 Highway 174, Edisto Island, SC 29438-6419
843-869-9003
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Edisto Island
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet
Secaucus, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lives Up to the Hype of America's #1 BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Although it has moved from its location down the road, the quality remains the same and the seating is expanded. This is a must stop (and sometimes twice) when visiting Edisto Island.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    33
    9
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Southern BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for fine dining with candle light, then you don't know BBQ. This is real southern home style BBQ. I recommend the buffet which has just about anything you could want with your BBQ pork. Don't forget their awesome caramel cake or banana pudding to finish off your meal. Been there multiple times and it gets better with each visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ for a buffet... Staff makes the place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stopped in here with a party of 10. We were greeted by the super friendly staff and seated immediately. I chose to go with their BBQ buffet. The pulled pork was good as were the baked beans. Their gumbo is really good. I'm a huge fan of sweet tea and theirs was pretty good. I can't say enough about the staff. The food was ok, but the staff made us feel right at home. If you're in Edisto Island, stop in and give them a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Try it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

There is good BBQ, and there is not so good. After over 25 years in the South, we have had both. The quality of the pork was very good, not greasy and stringy, and had good flavor. You can add from a variety of sauces. Slaw was good, chopped coarsely, which adds a lot of texture to the BBQ, if you have never combined these on a sandwich before, you should try it. The tea was as it should be, strong and just sweet enough. Flounder sandwich was also good. Place was clean, and take out efficient.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edisto
1 review
“Definately a place worth trying!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We ate there last night for the first time and it was great! I was a little concerned about what to expect after reading some of the other reviews, but my family and I found the place to be very charming! They offer menu items as well as a buffett but one look at the buffett and all 4 of us decided that was the best way to go! There is a wide variety of meats and vegtables to satisfy the picky eaters and the adventurous ones alike! Such as fried chicken, pulled BBQ pork and turkey, roasted chicken, Hash and rice, baked mac and cheese, squash casserole and plenty of other tasty vegtables and soup and salad items...My favorite was the Buford Chowder one bite and we were all hooked!
If you do go please keep in mind that the place is mostly self serve, so don't get offended if they do not refill. your drink! That's part of the Charm! They use foam plates bowls and cups that gives it a outdoor BBQ picnic feel! You clean up after your done like you would at a family gathering...except at this gathering all your required to bring is your appetite (and wallet)..lol...Cokes/sodas can be purchased at the counter when you enter and they come in a can or bottle, Tea and Lemonade are self serve with free refills with purchase and water is free self serve as well! So don't get upset over the lack of service, because they spend the most time on ensuring the food is plentiful and fresh! Tip or not tip its your choice...like I said you are your own server! Enjoy the food and enjoy the casual family help yourself laid back Southern attitude! Y'all Enjoy and don't miss this stop just because of a few bad reviews like we almost did!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Po Pigs Bobq also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Po Pigs Bobq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Po Pigs Bobq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.