We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you can eat....eat all you can” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Po Pigs Bobq

Po Pigs Bobq
2410 Highway 174, Edisto Island, SC 29438-6419
843-869-9003
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Edisto Island
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“All you can eat....eat all you can”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Po Pigs is probably great for an all-you-can-eat-kinda eater. A big variety of veggies and southern menu items. However, for the "average" eater looking for good barbeque, we were not pleased, and especially with their "Bobq" sauces. Just not suited for our taste in barbeque. But, very friendly staff and great turnip greens.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    33
    9
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Q”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch after we discovered that the new location next to TruValue is not open. Current location is about 8 miles from Edisto. Que was good. We ordered from the menu as not hungry enough for the buffet. Four different sauces, all different but none really hot or spicy. Very clean with restrooms next door.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for bbq loving Italians”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Every time my family goes to Edisto, we ALWAYS go to this place, it's amazing, and all you can eat, with loads of great bbq sauce. My cousin, who stayed the summer with my family last year, was visiting from Italy. He instantly fell in love with bbq sauce when he got to America (he even put it on his pasta!) and ate it with EVERYTHING. So when we went to Po Pigs BBQ, he was in heaven! My cousin is a very PICKY eater, but he loved this, as did everyone else. My friends and I are going to Edisto sometime soon, and one of my friends is a white meat vegetarian, but they have chicken, and veggies! It's perfect! I love this place, the staff are very friendly, and it's a really cute restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food, tight seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a great place to eat with a family, other than the tight seating space. Seems to be an add on to a convenience store. But the food is great in my opinion. All you can eat buffet of bbq, fried chicken, salads, vegetables, etc. And all of it is good. We do this for at least one meal everytime we go Edisto Beach. Though it is no where close to the beach, its worth the drive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant, Arkansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good, not great buffet in quaint setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I'm not a big fan of buffets. Note that you can order off of the menu. The other parties in my group did and the barbeque on their pork sandwiches looked better than what I had on the buffet. I had the buffet so I could have the vegetables. I did not try them all, but the greens were outstanding, the hush puppies pretty good, the barbeque pretty good, and the chicken gumbo good. If you want barbeque on the island, I recommend this place. The owner and employees were very friendly and it was clean. Note that for a public restroom you visit a convenience store next door, which is not very clean.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Po Pigs Bobq also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Po Pigs Bobq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Po Pigs Bobq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.