We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Botany Bay Plantation Heritage Preserve and Wildlife Management Area
Botany Bay Rd, Edisto Island, SC 29438
843-869-2713
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Best Thing in Edisto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We found out about this place from an employee at the ice cream shop - (it was not on our list of things to do from Wyndham hmm?!) - and boy are we glad! It was by far our favorite stop in Edisto. We took the self-driving tour around the plantations, and then rode our bikes to the beach. Everything is free! It is a long walk from the parking lot to the beach - and we couldn't have been happier that we brought our bikes. We then rode up and down the coast along the sand. It was breath-takingly beautiful and we were able to travel much farther than we would have been by foot. You can swim in the beach - you can fish - you can eat (no alcohol) but there is no bathroom anywhere on the bay. If you visit Edisto, you must go to Botany Bay!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    32
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edisto Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Spectacular beach & thousands of unspoiled acres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This new state park is a remarkable place, three former plantations combined with deep woods, angel oaks, plantation buildings, a pristine and wild beach, salt marshes, ponds and lakes, and abundant wildlife. Well-managed by volunteers, it is a truly remarkable place to visit and explore.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quiet and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a beautiful beach! Great place to enjoy nature! Completely undeveloped, be sure to get a map and take a tour and learn the history. We will go back again!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice beach to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Beautiful walking beach with no commericalism. You have to walk from the parking lot 1 mile.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“nature, nature, nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

an undeveloped beach and costal forest area. see what the coast looked like prior to the hands of developers. One of the few remaining places on the east coast to see the beach like it was meant to be seen. Caveat: you are not allowed to take any sea shells, and you won't find a bathroom out there, unless you count the bushes.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botany Bay Plantation Heritage Preserve and Wildlife Management Area also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Botany Bay Plantation Heritage Preserve and Wildlife Management Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botany Bay Plantation Heritage Preserve and Wildlife Management Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.