We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what happened” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grovers Seafood Bar - CLOSED

Grovers Seafood Bar
21 Fairway Dr, Wyndham Resort, Edisto Island, SC 29438-3646
843-869-0345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not sure what happened”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We've eaten here a a couple of times and the food/service were great. I don't know what happed the last time. Steak was over cooked, server did not tell us all of the specials and now that it has been remodeled it is very loud, not at all a relaxing dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service sometimes lacking...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We frequent Grover's when on the island due to convenience as well as the quality of food. It does have a great atmosphere for watching a football game. The service from time to time is very poor. It just seems to be hit or miss. We try to overlook it due to the food.
Must tries...Grover's Chips and Steamed Local Shrimp when available.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Celebration for a friends birthday with eleven guest and the birthday girl lacked much to be enjoyed. Though the decor and style of Grover's was exquisite the service and food were absolulety horrible. One of our guest did not get her meal with the others nor were we given plates for our bread even a drink refill. The waiter lacked in training. Meal took two hours to get!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty meals, good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Grover Bar and Grill is the Wyndham resort restaurant. It is adjacen t to the golf course and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner in a pleasant brick, wood, and window environment. The meals are tasty and the service is good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Walking Distance....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Well, I think the title says quite a bit. We walk to Grover's quite often for drinks and seafood. While the service and food varies in quality from visit to visit, we spend about two months a year on Edisto so this has become a favorite. Sometimes, they have the absolute best raw oysters ever tasted there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grovers Seafood Bar also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grovers Seafood Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.