We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food...if they get your order right. ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of McConkey's Jungle Shack

McConkey's Jungle Shack
108 Jungle Road, Edisto Island, SC 29438-3005
843-869-0097
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Eclectic, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok food...if they get your order right. ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My mom ordered a salad no onion no cucumber. It came with both. Sent it back and they dumped it out picked out the onion and gave it back. They missed some so sent it back again and the manager gave me attitude and asked what I wanted her to do about it. I told her keep it and don't charge us. She didn't but we won't be back. And they add an automatic 20% tip to your bill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    107
    39
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edisto Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've never had a bad meal.........hamburgers to die for!! fat burgers for the men. salads, fish baskets, you name it, they've got it and it is good. super clientele.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Funky beach decor, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had the shrimp and chips and the fish taco. Both were yummy and fresh. Breading was very light. Horseradish slaw was tasty with just a mild kick. Salsa had a welcome bigger kick. Key lime pie was almost eye watering tangy (as opposed to sweet) and we loved it (just push aside the "whipped creme).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucepraise
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Restaurant and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This "Island0 Shack" themed restaurant is very popular on Edisto Island for good reason. I had the most tasty pickle chips I've ever had and great entrees as well. Reasonably priced and a cool and fun atmosphere. Great service as well!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Whimsical and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

One of our two favorite meals on the island. Loved the fried shrimp - almost tempura style. Best Key Lime pie on the island. A cute dining "room" with lots of interesting memorabilia. And personal, friendly service that personifies Edisto. Would have given five stars if either the prices had been a little lower or the menu broadened to include traditional, grilled seafood entrees.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McConkey's Jungle Shack also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to McConkey's Jungle Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McConkey's Jungle Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.