We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mahi tacos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McConkey's Jungle Shack

McConkey's Jungle Shack
108 Jungle Road, Edisto Island, SC 29438-3005
843-869-0097
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Fish & Chips, Hamburgers, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mahi tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

My family are there for lunch. My husband and I both had the grilled mahi tacos. They were delicious. My 13 year old son had the fried flounder tacos and loved it. My 8 year old daughter had the kids cheeseburger. We also ordered a side of fried pickles--YUM! The food was good. The staff was good. I would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    117
    42
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, SC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“LOVE THE ATMOSPHERE!! VERY BEACHY!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Food was great, service was great and price was very reasonable. I will eat here again and will definitely recommend this quaint little restaurant. It is very close to the beach, so you can go grab a bite to eat and then go soak up the sun and take a stroll down lovely Edisto Beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If you love fried food..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

then this is your place. It is a little shack located in the parking lot of the Piggly Wiggly. Don't expect anything gourmet but if you like a good beer battered onion ring or fried mushrooms then you will love this place. Hamburgers are only served med. well, which to me means overcooked and and dry, but the onion rings were awesome.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After a tough day on the links our wives decided to get take out from McConkeys. The food was excellent and reasonable priced. Service was good and the staff was vcery accomodating. Will definitely eat here again

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Shrimp and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Nice place and good food. We were in Edisto for a week and we went there twice. Both time were excellent. I had shrimp and chips. The shrimp were fresh and delicious.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McConkey's Jungle Shack also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to McConkey's Jungle Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McConkey's Jungle Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.