We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast food - won't be back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of McConkey's Jungle Shack

McConkey's Jungle Shack
108 Jungle Road, Edisto Island, SC 29438-3005
843-869-0097
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Eclectic, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Fast food - won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The food here was not great. It was pretty much fast food. The nachos were just chips from the bag with a few slices of cheese melted on them - and the fried shrimp and fish & chips platter were nothing special. The beer is all bottled, and they don't serve tap water - it's also bottled water. The restaurant, which really is like a shack, is small; all seating is outdoor in a screened patio. The servers were all very nice, but because of the food, we won't be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    107
    39
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were pleased with our food and service. The fish tacos were great. The service was good, but seating is limited. I recommend arriving for an early dinner

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Funky Local & Beachy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

we had a great lunch--friendly, lots of locals--best fried seafood! And amazing house-made Key Lime pie--not cloying at all. Best I've ever had. We even got to take home some of their own hot sauce.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Leansville
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Do you drink water?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you do, they will let you know that they only have bottled. It is somewhat understandable since your on an island, however we didn't have any problem getting water at the other places we ate. The food was okay, not great, however we chose this because my son loves clam strips and it was the only place on the island we could find them.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsmithEdistoIsland, Owner at McConkey's Jungle Shack, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review McConkey's. Edisto's public water supply is a hot topic indeed and has been for the 20 years i have lived in the area. The water we purchase from the town is salty and generally unpalatable. (But safe to consume) I thought of this review today when I met with a Reverse Osmosis company about installing a treatment system that would handle the high volume needs of our restaurant. Currently we have a system that supplies the tea urns and the coffee machine (about 100 gallons a day) We are a tiny restaurant and finding the floor space for a holding tank large enough that would allow us to distribute water to all of our diners is a challenge. It will also be very very expensive. So we sell bottled water to those who choose to drink water with their meals for now.

The Town of Edisto just held a water referendum and it was voted down primarily because the increased cost to the businesses and private property owners was believed to be to high and uncertain. It was purported to increase water bills by 100%. Our yearly water bill is currently about $4000. However, I did not vote as I am not a property owner within the town's limits. The town may still proceed with this plan as the referendum was a non-binding opinion poll. So purchasing a system that would produce 100s of gallons of good water with the possibility that we may have a water bill that is $8000 (for good tasting water) in the months to come may not be a good business decision at this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place can be crowded, particularly on nights when the Sea Cow is closed. The restaurant itself is a combination of outdoor seating with a covered porch area. The vibe is eclectic with random signs on the walls and swag hanging from the ceiling.
Food itself is par for the course. Burgers are tasty (have to be cooked med well) and the Grilled mahi tacos were delicious. All sides are a la carte so that can add up but they are large enough to share. Skip the pimento cheese appetizer. All beverages are sold by the can with a glass of ice, including water (island water is salty) so don't count on that to lower cost. Meal for 4 with 1 app, 1 beer, and 4 entrees was roughly $60. Service was all right, sometimes the server seemed a bit lost but given the low-key nature of the place, nobody was worried. There were a few larger parties walking in that required tables pushed together so that is nice they will accomodate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McConkey's Jungle Shack also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to McConkey's Jungle Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McConkey's Jungle Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.