We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Seafood and Local Color” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whaley's

Whaley's
2801 Myrtle St, Edisto Island, SC 29438
+1 843-869-2161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 24 Restaurants in Edisto Island
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: We are a local seafood restaurant serving for lunch and dinner. We also offer a wide variety of non seafood items and amazing desserts.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood and Local Color”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I go to this restaurant every year while in Edisto on vacation. We always enjoy the local sea food and get a combination of the "pots" and steamed seafood. This year was especially good because we were seated next to a large crowd of locals who regale us with local gossip. Great TIme!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    73
    48
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dive bar and liked my food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We asked and a local store worker told us to must visit Whaley's. We ordered shrimp burger and crabcake and both were very good. Is not a fancy clean place but is what we call dive bar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst service on the island.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The waitress seated us and then didn't come back for 20 minutes. My husband finally walked up to her to see what was up. She told us she would get to us when she had a chance. The service stayed about the same all night.
The food was really good. It was also the most expensive of anywhere we went.

Two days later we decided to try take out for lunch. The woman who answered the phone said, "Yeah we do take out, but you'll have to hold for a minute." She laid the phone down and never came back. Well maybe she would have, but I hung up at 5 minutes.
In short, go somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent food and good selection of beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Waleys is an out of the way local hangout, excellent food and good selection of beers. Overall good value. There is also a local pizza takeout place next door, but otherwise this little gem is tucked away in a residential area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Old Gas Station Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Definitely a destination for the fried oysters! We ate here three evenings and loved each visit and the food is excellent.

After our family arrived we ate here again. I told my 6 year old grandaughter that it used to be gas station. She said, "It still looks like a gas station"!

Good service, good pricies, and seafood experts!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whaley's also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Whaley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whaley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.