We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar that serves food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whaley's

Whaley's
2801 Myrtle St, Edisto Island, SC 29438
+1 843-869-2161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 24 Restaurants in Edisto Island
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: We are a local seafood restaurant serving for lunch and dinner. We also offer a wide variety of non seafood items and amazing desserts.
Anderson, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice bar that serves food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Pleasantly surprised. We ate here twice on our trip, food was prepared well and never had a bad meal. It is more for the adults as it is primarily a bar. If you are looking for a bar with great food it is worth a try. We will definitely be back! George Rocks!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    73
    48
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have been going to Edisto for years and years and have always had a problem finding a good place to eat. That problem was solved once we found Whaley's. We now know that when we are looking for GREAT food, all we have to do is head to Whaley's. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was purely "Edisto". Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champion Pa.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Thsi is a great little place to grab a bite.Nice atomosphere and a friendly crowd!If you are staying at South Pointe you can walk right to the place.Cant miss try it out!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Friends brought us to Whaley's on our recent trip. The place was quite busy, but the service was practically nonexistent. Food quality was slightly above average but overpriced. There re limited options on Edisto Island.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had early lunch. Everything was great. We shared a sampler of fried oysters, flounder, shrimp and scallops and also a shrimp sandwich.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whaley's also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Whaley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whaley's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.