We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal less enjoyable knowing veal is on the menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Post Office Restaurant

The Old Post Office Restaurant
1442 Highway 174, Edisto Island, SC 29438
843-869-2339
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: From the restaurant's web site:"Featuring a selection of your favorite foods served in the Low Country. We welcome you to a restored tradition and a fresh beginning. Foods of the South are designed by chef Cherry Smalls."Full bar. Serving dinner Tue–Sat from March–Oct, dinner Wed–Sat Nov, Dec and Feb. Closed Jan."This is the most prominent building that you're likely to see as you drive through the forests and fields across Edisto Island. About 5 miles from the beach, the restaurant was once a combination post office and general store, as its weathered clapboards and old-time architecture imply."— Frommer's
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great meal less enjoyable knowing veal is on the menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The food and service here are excellent. I had the crab cake which was full of delicious crab meat. My only issue is that I wish veal was not on the menu.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opoedisto, Owner at The Old Post Office Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for the review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your Crab Cakes and the Quality of Service.
Its a shame that you're not more of a beef fan as you're missing out.
Sincerely,
Adam Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    29
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brevard, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Best resturant in Edisto hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A short five minute drive from the beach will land you at the Old Post Office. They handled our group of 20+ with grace and charm (we were at three tables). Everyone pronounced their food excellent and we covered the entire spectrum -- seafood, steaks, and pasta. Decent wine list, generous mixed drinks, engaging servers. This is a high end restaurant -- very different from the fried seafood and pizza fare found elsewhere on the beach. If you've had it with the unhealthy, fried fare on the beach side of the island, treat yourself to a lunch or dinner here. It's definitely on the list of our "must eat here" on our next visit to Edisto.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opoedisto, Owner at The Old Post Office Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
wilkins99
Wonderful having all of you join us for dinner....a real pleasure. We appreciate your feedback, review and business. Looking forward to your return.
Sincerely
Adam Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An out-of-the-way oasis for food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The Old Post Office really delivered! Not an extensive menu but the food was incredible! Definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opoedisto, Owner at The Old Post Office Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Tiffany12501
Thank you for your review! Very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with us. We appreciate your business and hope you'll join again in the future.
Again, thank you
Adam Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edisto Island, SC
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It has been several years since we have eaten at the Old Post Office. We have always enjoyed it because it was always very fresh food and well prepared. Food was made after we ordered and the delays were long but the result was well worth it. However, this time it was different. We ordered Firecracker Flounder, Veal and Scallops. I have caught and eaten flounder up and down the east coast for nearly 50 years. It is a flaky delicate fish with a mild but distinctive flavor. I don't think I was served flounder at all. It was tough and unlike any flounder I have ever eaten. I only ate part of it and took the rest home and put it in a crab trap the next day. Worked pretty well there. I have prepared and eaten scallops for many years. These were filled with grit and shell. Scallops are easy to clean with a bit of effort. They appeared to have been cooked with a microwave. Veal was apparently frozen and pre-processed. Remains of this, too, made it to the crab trap with less than spectacular results. Friday night and the restaurant was about half full. Used to be you needed reservation a week ahead. The old owners would have been ashamed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opoedisto, Owner at The Old Post Office Restaurant, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
M326,
One question for you? If you feel that strongly about what you ate why would you not say something to a waiter or one of the two owners (Toniann, at the front door) or (Adam, working in the kitchen). I know what products come in that door, know how fresh they are, know how their prepared, and served. SO I'M SIMPLY CALLING YOUR BLUFF! I personally invite you to come stand in our kitchen and observe so you can educate yourself about something you know nothing about. Since you're "local" it shouldn't be hard for ya!
Adam
PS: the old owners have enough to be ashamed about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pretty disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We decided to take our family here as a special dinner during our vacation. We knew it was a little pricey but thought it would be a nice dining experience. For the price, the food was just ok and the service was not the caliber I would expect. The atmosphere was lacking as well. The drinks were warm with melting ice in them. Nothing special about the food. The desserts were pretty plain. The waitress was nice, but seemed more like a diner waitress than a server in an upscale restaurant. I would not go there again at the current price point.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opoedisto, Owner at The Old Post Office Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Mandywayman
We're not for everyone!....and even though we work hard to please all of our customers we also know that at times you can't. If melting ice is an issue I would recommend visiting in January because ice melts in July.
Enjoy
Adam Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Post Office Restaurant also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Old Post Office Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Post Office Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.