We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Restaurant

The Waterfront Restaurant
136 Jungle Rd, Edisto Beach, Edisto Island, SC 29438-3005
843-869-1400
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointment!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Pickens are slim in Edisto when it comes to restaurant choices, so my husband and I were hopeful that the Waterfront Restaurant would be half-way decent. It really wasn't. We were there for lunch and the large, nautically-themed dining room was virtually empty. The food was mediocre. The service was friendly and quick, but then we were practically the only patrons! BTW, Waterfront is not water front! I suppose in another visit, we might try it again. But you'd probably be better off grilling at your rental, trying McConkey's Jungle Shack or Sea Cow or, better yet, drive 40 minutes and enjoy Charleston dining!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    110
    44
    20
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Friendly family atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice clean environment. All the food was excellent. Good selection of seafood, steaks, sandwiches, and low country. Highly recommend

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Service and quality have dropped.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

As Edisto goes, the pickings are slim for dining, and my expectations have never been high.. I have been dining at Waterfront periodically since they opened, and I have been reasonably satisfied but lately it just doesn't seem like they care about service or food quality that much.. On my last visit, it was a slow Sunday evening, and there were only a couple of other tables. After we were seated, roughly 10 minutes had passed and one of the staff approached us and stated that we should not have been seated at that table, and abruptly moved us to another table. Fast forward 5 minutes, and our waitress (who was actually very helpful and provided excellent service once she showed up) handed us the most disgusting tattered looking menu's that I had ever seen in my life.. The edges were very frayed, and the menu's were absolutely filthy.

Once our food arrived, some was good and some was very disappointing. The fried flounder was excellent, but the so called "Fresh" Tuna was awful, and much more fishy and ammonia tasting than it should have been. The she-crab soup was served cold, and tasted rancid. The crinkle cut fries that came with the flounder were dry, and tasted like they were fried several hours ago.. Once again, I don't have high expectations for any of the Edisto restaurants, but this time I was very disappointed and do not plan to ever return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnwell, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's on island time...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very good seafood, but sort of slow service. We were there for lunch on a weekday, not many customers, but still 45 minutes from seating to eating. Good value, though.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dependable year in and year out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We showed up on a busy Thursday night. Staff were hustling to serve everyone, and it was all done with a smiling face. The she crab soup is good. I loved the creamy cole slaw served with the fried oyster and scallops I ordered. Huge portions. All delicious. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
Edisto Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.