We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Edisto!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Ocean Ridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Ocean Ridge to your Saves list
Wyndham Ocean Ridge
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 King Cotton Road, Edisto Island, SC 29438 (Formerly Fairfield Ocean Ridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edisto Island
GreenLeadersGold level
Harpers Ferry, WV
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Edisto!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My in-laws have the timeshare so we used it last week for the full week. The place is 1 hour from Charleston so we went there a few times during the week. We had a one bedroom unit #711. It was right next to the pool which was convenient. You could walk/bike to the beach or park. We chose to drive there & parking was never an issue. We went to the beach 3 or 4 times & had a blast. The unit looked recently updated. The only bad things I would say about it is the bathroom needs upgrades. The shower was TINY & the bathroom sink had little to no room for all of my stuff. I had to set up my makeup on bar kitchen area. The bedroom was small but we were only in there to sleep. It has a screened in patio but it was too humid too sit outside. We really liked this timeshare & would stay again. We saw zero bugs in our unit for the entire week. Parking was easy too.

Room Tip: Room 711 was a great room for us near beach,pool etc....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    122
    77
    62
    58
See reviews for
167
115
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have been Wyndham Time Share owners for eight years and our trip in June 2013 was by far one of our worst experiences with housekeeping and a plumbing issue. Upon check-in, I have a routine of checking the unit to make sure we have what we need regarding the basics and immediately noticed a film of dust on most surfaces, dirty patio windows and missing bed linen for the sleep sofa. I tracked down the housekeeping staff and they were prompt in providing the needed linen. I didn't have the heart to mention to them the uncleanliness of the room as I didn't want to come across as a complainer and just used Lysol wipes to wipe down as many of the surfaces, but did plan to let the front desk know.

Then we discovered that our bathroom had a leaking faucet in the tub so we called maintenance and it took them about 3-4 hours to make a temporary repair, as a pipe was broken and spraying water all over, whenever we turned on the faucet. The maintenance staff person was very nice and tried his best to avoid us moving, but he thought we should be moved to another unit, but another Wyndham worker came in to try a last ditch effort so that we didn't have to move. The faucet still leaked but instead of spraying water all over it leaked into the tub. Let's hope that whatever temporary plumbing they tried doesn't cause more damage to their unit. Bottom line, this took away time from our vacation and was a total nuisance. Overall, we will not be returning to Ocean Ridge and may shorten our stay. I didn't feel that our happiness and satisfaction as guests was a priority.

Room Tip: Choose a newer unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, sc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Marsh Point for three days this June. It was off the beach with beach access site 30 about a mile away. The locale was near the Marine and dockside, a decent site for off beach.The room was fair but outdated, and there were water marks on the small restroom ceiling. Wifi was negligible, not strong enough for much. The lighting was dim and the room noise insulation was poor, being able to hear people walking above us. The floors had soft spots which might indicate a rotten floor beneath. The tap water was undrinkable, but the kitchen had a filter. The Wyndham people were nice, and we attended a sales talk with Steve and Mark, who were nice. We received a $50 card or 5,000 pts., but we're not time share people. I would not stay here again because of the small restroom, lack of wifi strength, soft floors, noise level, watermark. Stay in the resort, but not Marsh Point--unless it's free.

Room Tip: Stay in main resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We just completed our stay at The Village, which is part of Wyndham Ocean Ridge. We actually left one day early, and that says something! When we arrived (past the 4:00 check-in time), we were told our unit was ready. We drove out of the resort (The Village is located outside the gates) to our unit to find it had not yet been cleaned. We called guest services, and they sent housekeeping. We then went to the grocery store and were gone for over an hour, came back to find housekeeping still there. We were finally able to get into our unit at 6:30. The stay did not improve as we experienced a leaking, dripping shower that had no pressure, and you could not mix the hot and cold water. Both ceiling fans were so noisy that you really couldn't use them when sleeping. We stayed in the bottom unit, and you could literally hear every step and bump from upstairs. The air conditioner quit cooling. The final straw came in the form of giant cockroaches known as palmetto bugs. We did contact guest services about these issues, but when we finally left nothing had been done. Obviously, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was our first stay in this region. Not far from Charleston (45 min). We took short day trips for sightseeing. Botany Bay was fantastic! We stayed in the village which was newer and had it's own pool and hot tub. We had a 1 bedroom lockout (good for family visiting at end of week) and had the whole top floor to ourselves. The resort had it's own beach access (short drive) on the Atlantic. The units were clustered around the pool and we were within hailing distance of our neighbors and a total blast! We had afternoon drinks with neighbors by the pool and everyone very very friendly. The island is beautiful and peaceful and we found some good restaurants. One grocery so we were able to stock up and eat some meals in unit. Our unit was fairly large and very well stocked. Could have used more towels, though. We especially liked the filter system on the sinks. We very much liked the relaxing atmosphere and the peacefulness of the island. We will definitely go back!!!!

Room Tip: We had the 2nd floor, lots of stairs (but worth it after all the great food). Lots of sunlight, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have just returned from a week at Wyndham Ocean Ridge. It was a girls' getaway...so we were very laid back. Our unit was #307 in Bay Villas which was right on the golf course and close to the entrance of the resort and the main pool and Grovers (restaurant). We enjoyed our unit and it was more than adequate for our needs. However, it is very old and I think a family who would be cooking there, etc., would find it less than optimum. We did not cook at all ... just breakfast cereal, snacks, sandwiches and cocktails...we ate out for dinner. We did notice that the dishwasher did not clean the dishes adequately and reported it at checkout. Our unit had two bedrooms, loft with two beds and fold out sofa...slept 8 people. As there were only 3 of us, it was very comfortable. We enjoyed the patio overlooking the golf course. Very peaceful. We had two full bathrooms as well as a washer and dryer. We rented bicycles (on the resort...cheaper ($35/week) than the other company in town) and enjoyed riding our bikes everywhere...to the beach, stores, and just exploring. The beach was awesome...not crowded and the water was nice and warm. Enjoyed it a lot! They do rent chairs and umbrellas at the cabana, the chairs are $20 per day which we felt was way too pricey. We brought our own and were glad we did! We ate at Grover's several times and totally enjoyed the food and cocktails there! Oysters on the half shell were SO fresh. Yum! Food was great there. The island is very laid back and slow...this is not the place to go for a high activity vacation. This is the place you go to totally unwind and relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was the first time we had been to Ocean Ridge on Edisto Island. Once you get to the resort it`s ok but the drive was very remote. We stayed at Marsh Point. It`s part of the complex but managed by a different company. Housekeeping needs some work - we found shorts on the floor in the living room and a wadded up paper behind an end table. The toilet was very low for my husband and myself - use your imagination. We have never had this issue on any trip we have taken. The Wi-Fi didn`t work all week and the elevator broken down one day. On the up side, the personnel were all very helpful. It is definitely bike friendly and a short walk to the beach. Go if you want to get away. If you go be sure to go to Botany Bay and then take the entire drive around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Ocean Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Ridge

Address: 1 King Cotton Road, Edisto Island, SC 29438 (Formerly Fairfield Ocean Ridge)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Edisto Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edisto Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Ridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Ridge Hotel Edisto Island
Wyndham Hotel Edisto Island
Wyndham Edisto Island
Edisto Island Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Ocean Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.