We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Firehouse Subs

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Firehouse Subs
1634 E Main St, Duncan, SC 29334-9706
864-486-9890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 39 Restaurants in Duncan
Restaurant details
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Sub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This was my second time at this Firehouse. This is a very clean location, food is good and fresh. Manager and staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. We ordered the Italian and the Engineer, both in 8 inch portions. Both were very delicious. A Firehouse sub cost a little more than "other chains" but it's well worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great subs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in to get a couple Ls subs and they were great. She had a club sub and I had the smoked brisket. Both were great and the staff were very nice.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“What was in that sandwich?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have visited other Firehouse Sub stores and they are almost average in what they serve. Today, I tried the one in Duncan SC. I had the Momma's Chicken Salad Sub. When I sat to eat, about a third of the salad had already fallen out of the sandwich. Not a big problem. When I took my first bite, I would have sworn the sandwich was made with bologna. So I dug through the sandwich and pulled out several chunks of "chicken". It still tasted like bologna! I was too far away from the store to take it back, so I resigned myself to eating Momma's Bologna Salad Sub. It was then I noticed something else. This sandwich was overpowered by the onions. I opened the sandwich again and pulled out a literal handful of onion. Perhaps that's how they bulk up the sandwich.

The best part of this sandwich was the side-pickle.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Firehouse Subs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Good sub shop. We often times stop by here after swim meets at the Middle Tyger River YMCA. The local owners always place nice discount coupons on car windows at the swim meet, which is a nice touch on their part. Well done!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse Subs also viewed

 

Been to Firehouse Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firehouse Subs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.