We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience in Jamaica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Edge Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mount Edge Guest House to your Saves list
Mount Edge Guest House
17 mile post Newcastle Road, Newcastle, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Experience in Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I spent the best days of any trip of our adult lives at Mount Edge in the Blue Mountains! It is a delightful property run by great people. We were there in December.

Robyn and all the staff are genuine and accommodating. Robert cooks delicious meals served in the restaurant which has beautiful views and a great vibe. They always brew fresh Blue Mountain coffee which is the finest.

We stayed in Roost which we loved. It was nice having the bathroom in our room.
You can hear the waterfall from inside the room.

We met some other travelers there and went to Hollywell National Park and hiked some gorgeous trails. But our absolute favorite experience was hiking to the Rasta Camp in the rain on the Sabbath. The view of Kingston from there is breathtaking.

If you want a truly authentic Jamaican experience that is truly life-changing, come to Mount Edge.

Alan and Beth

Room Tip: Roost is nice and has a great view and bathroom. It repaired our marriage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
28
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Mount Edge Guest House is a wonderful place to stay! I am so happy that we were able to find the place. We were only able to spend two nights there but would love to come back because of the people, the view and the peaceful environment. The people who work here really make a difference. The cook Robert made some of the best food we had on the trip, along with the sauces that Bermise (sp?) made and Joy. Micke also is a very kind man and he provided us with rides to the local Coffee plantation and elsewhere. Robyn and Michael run a great business and are very kind, helpful and knowledgable people. Each room has a beautiful and I would love to go back when the yoga room is up and running. There is plenty to do like relaxing, going hiking, checking out the coffee plantation and going into Kingston. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent three nights at the Mount Edge Guest House in the Blue Mountains two weeks ago and it was a truly fabulous experience. We were staying in the 'View' room. The name tells it all: we have never ever stayed in a room with such a stunning mountain view. Both from our large king size bed and our private terrace we had an open view over the Blue mountains and the valley. The rooms all seem pretty basic but the place really oozes charm.

Staying at Mount Edge makes you feel one with nature. Every morning at sunrise, we hiked down through their organic farm to the mountain river and waterfalls for a swim which was truly invigorating. When back at the guest house, a delicious breakfast (cooked to order by their amazing chef Rob with ingredients from their own farm) was awaiting us. We did a couple of great hikes (check out the 'Jamaica Tour Society' for great daytrips/tours/hikes) in the mountains but also used the guesthouse as our base for visits to Kingston (a bit far, but doable). Every time we returned it felt like coming home. Robyn and Michael (daughter and father running the guest house) asked us about our day, Rob, the chef came to ask what we fancied for dinner and so great nights unfolded...

Also when you don't plan any activities during the day, this place is a wonderful retreat to just relax. They have a couple of great decks and terraces where you could read one of the books or magazines from their nice little library. The place also has a well working WiFi connection (something not easy to find in such remote places in Jamaica). The place is high up in the mountains which guarantees a gentle and breezy climate all year round. So, ideally located to escape the sometimes oppressing Kinston heat.

All in all, Mount Edge Guest House is an amazing hideaway, the perfect place to unwind in a ridiculously beautiful setting and in great company. Before we arrived we thought "what will we do there high up in the mountains all by ourselves", but by the end of our stay we wanted to stay for another week...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Robyn and Michael run such a wonderful guesthouse!!! My husband and I had an amazing time retreating up in the blue mountains. Everything about our stay was absolutely perfect! We stayed in the "view" room and it definitely had a spectacular view! We sat on the little balcony and read for hours, it was so calm and peaceful. The room was very clean and we slept really well. Sharing a bathroom was no issue at all as it was right outside our door. We didn't use the wifi but they had it available for free if you are interested. They are building a yoga deck and spa room which would be a perfect place for a retreat. They also had a restaurant connected, EITS, which serves delicious food at a discounted rate for it's lodging guests. Some of the best food I've eaten!

There isn't a fitness room but there is a yoga deck and hiking trails so I checked excellent. Location is excellent if you are looking for a peaceful retreat/getaway.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the View room, it is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

During my day excursion, we had an lunch stop at Mount Edge in Kingston.
This place is magical, so beautiful, before lunch we got an tour of the property where you
also can sleep.
If you want to chill a few days, this is the place to be.
For the lunch I had the chicken with rijst and local vegetables.
It was very tasteful, presentation on the plate was perfect, and the service was outstanding!
I will go a few nights next year, to destress and chill in the mountains.
During our lunch, an Rastafarian group was busy playing some nice vibes, Irie!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Mount Edge was recommended to us last minute and after the long drive from Port Antonio through Buff Bay, Mount Edge appeared to us like an oasis. The restaurant saved our tummies! Each room is unique and corresponds to its nickname like the revolution or vibes room. Our room was right on the cliff side and had both breathtaking view and lovely art work on display from local and renowned artists alike. The room was clean and neat, the staff was always accessible making our stay very pleasant.

Would stay there again and refer family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited this wonderful place as we had heard about it from some good friends who had loved it. Our lovely and comfortable room had an incredible view of the valley, mountains and kingston. We would sit and drink coffee every morning in contemplation of the magnificent view, as it is impossible to get enough. The staff was really friendly and attentive - Michael and Robin are excellent hosts, and will ensure you have a good time and make the most of the wonderful local activities. The food is excellent, and all the ingredients are grown on the farm so everything is extremely healthy and natural. A wonderful time, and I look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Edge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edge Guest House

Address: 17 mile post Newcastle Road, Newcastle, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Andrew Parish > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all wooden buildings, perched on the hillside in the Blue Mountains 3500 ft above sea level with the river below, is known as Mount Edge Guest House. We are featured in Rough Guides and Lonely Planet travel guides to name a few. We are located about 30 minutes from the Reggae capital of the world, Kingston. The main building has two private rooms with shared bathroom, spacious living and dining room. There are also three cottages all with double beds and own bathrooms and another building with bunk beds for four. Follow us on Instagram at 17milepost ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mount Edge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edge Guest House Hotel Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Edge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.