We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass on by!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 Radford Blvd., Dillon, SC 29536   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Scranton, PA, USA
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Pass on by!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Yes it has WiFi and a "continental breakfast" but it has dirty bedspreads, poor heating/AC units, and a general appearance of age and lack of maintenance. Twenty miles away is Lumberton, NC with a much better selection of hotels and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    8
    26
See reviews for
13
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

The desk clerk was very freindly and helpful . They did honor the coupon form the motel saver book with no problem. They did have free wifi . If you've read the other reviews...Yep, they are for the most part pretty much correct, but for 38 dollars you shouldn't expect much more than a safe clean place to sleep. .
The front office had a gut wretching smell of maybe garlic, incense and who knows???. It will almost take your breath and turn your stomach. The room did not have this smell or I would have had to leave. The room was pretty well worn with bad carpet , very thin sheets and towells. The room did look to have been cleaned and I didn't see any bugs. Over all this is not the worst hotel I've stayed at , but far from the best.. I would probally stay again just for a one nighter for work but would not take my family or recomend to a family or anyone who is very picky. The breakfast consisted of a few peices of bread for toast , cerals, and donuts. I passed on the breakfast. Just took the money I saved by the cheaper room and went to waffle house.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

WOW!!!!!! Traveling to Disney. On the road for about 14 hours kids are tired decided to get off of highway and rest for the night. Saw the giant sign outside read NEW Rooms. Ok, checked in no problem paid $60 what a bargain. Carried the kids into the room. Ouch!!!! Smell of old stale air. Ok, so we turned a/c on maybe just needed air circulation. Hop into the shower paper tin scratchy towels, took a quick shower back into the room. Smell disapated pulled the covers off of the beds. Yukkkkkkk !!!!!! grease stains on the sheets. Checked the beds and room for bugs none found. My wife had some sheets and blankets in the van. Dressed the beds ourselves with our own blankets. Got up at sunrise and bolted out the door. This place is terrible. Maybe it is used as a happy Motel by the men's club next door. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room had mold all over the ceiling, the smell was awful. The comforter was anything but comfortable, it was old and rough to the touch. The complimentary breakfast included stale donuts (my 6yr old took one bite of her donut and threw it away) and the milk for the coffee was 3 weeks past it's sell by date. I will NEVER stay at an Econo Lodge again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Disgusting bedding and pillows. The blanket was so gross, hugh bleach stains, coarse and so, so old! The "breakfast" consisted of cold coffee and very stale donut! Hugh waste of money! Should be shut down.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

I and another family simultaneously tried two different rooms- bedbugs, stains on sheets, dirty carpet, sinks- was afraid to get undressed or use shower. Heater would blast on, then go off. Like other people, I was denied refund, and checked into a Comfort Inn, which felt much safer and luxurious in comparison. I ran into the other people there also. I notified my credit card company, as I will Choice Hotels and the local Dept. of Health. This EconoLodge should be shut down, and the place inspected.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Room- filthy, smelly, bedbugs.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

We stayed here for one night on our way from PA to Charleston. I wouldn't recommend this place as a destination, just a quick overnighter. The roomsaver.com rate was very reasonable, that's what prompted us to choose to stay here. The linens were clean, the room was clean, but the outside of the toilet bowl near the floor had not seen a cleaning in a long time. The towels were small, thin and very scratchy, it was almost like drying yourself with a loofah. The room did have a small refrigerator and microwave, and a continental breakfast of cereal, white bread or toast, coffee and juice is included. Stay here only if you want a basic, cheap room for a few hours sleep.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — dirty toilet
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1223 Radford Blvd., Dillon, SC 29536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Dillon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Dillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Dillon
Dillon Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.