We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop on a trip to stretch your legs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South of the Border

South of the Border
I-95 at US 301/501, Dillon, SC
(843) 774-2411
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Dillon
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Landmarks
Attraction details
Ohio
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop on a trip to stretch your legs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stopped on our way to N. Myrtle Beach. Place it huge and has lots of attractions. Bathrooms were surprisingly clean. We got some ice cream, took some pictures, and were on our way. It is a tourist trap place, what do you expect.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    68
    83
    41
    47
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Was there last weekend. The diner was being demolished. It is gone. We take the kids and stay at the campground. 22 dollars a night and is very quiet The pools are nice and open late. The peddler steakhouse is the best. Kinda of pricey but u can share the steak and I promise the best steak you have ever eaten and a really good salad bar. Very fresh. We enjoyed the reptile lagoon. It is tacky but fun.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Sombrero Mexican Restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was driving from New Jersey along I-95 and was about to pass South of the Border in South Carolina. I thought it would be great to have huevos rancheros for breakfast. I walked into the Sombrero Mexican Restaurant. I asked the hostess if they had that. She said that they didn't and that she didn't really know what it was. I continued to my table and looked at the menu. Other that the word "Sombrero", there wasn't another Spanish word anywhere on that menu. I was disappointed and thought about getting up. There was a very slight smell of grease throughout, but I went ahead and ordered the "Mexican Omelet". It was okay and slightly reminiscent of a Western Omelet. Service was fine. I won't go back simply because it has nothing to do with Mexican food. I like Mexican food and was ready for a breakfast. Should have known better. Sorry, folks, not on the "repeat list."

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“love it every single time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we spent one night on way to myrtle and as always love it; room was small but cozy with chairs and table outside; my son loves the spa and pool and rode some rides this time and had a blast; we played mini golf and had fun but i fell on green which was wet and muddy and i got banged up but after went back to room to clean up; very nice quiet sleep only hearing crickets and it feels like u r camping in woods; son had steak and potatoes at the Peddler and loved it and we loved the atmosphere but he had to wait a long while for his steak but they do take time; next morning he had French toast at Somberero Restaurant and loved it and i loved the atmosphere and we walked around the shops and over the bridge; wanted to use outdoor pool but no time; staff is always friendly; we will stay again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Poor upkeep over the years.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a must-stop for me when I was a kid on our way from NY to Florida. Not much has changed over the years and what is there hasn't been kept up with which is a HUGE shame because I used to love this place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South of the Border also viewed

 

Been to South of the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South of the Border, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.