We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rivertown Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rivertown Bistro

Rivertown Bistro
1111 3rd Ave, Conway, SC 29526-5103
843-248-3733
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Conway
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Rivertown Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Went to dinner after attending theatre and had a wonderful meal in a warm and inviting "posh" restaurant. The service was fast and food excellent. I highly recommend this place. I little costly but worth it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    34
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, but out of the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Nice portions, good service, a little loud. Meals to fit everyone's taste! It's a little drive to Conway and 501 traffic can be a nightmare. Not much else to do in Conway except the river walk!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Went for lunch. Food was out of this world. Appetizers was good and my meal was also. The only thing wish they had was better drink specials. My drink was great but was little on the high side for its size. Will go back SOON.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very indifferent, borded on rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Went hoping to enjoy an evening out with my daughter. Have eaten there before and food was fabulous. Left my name for seating because there was a " ten minute" wait. After approximately 20 mins they seated a couple that arrived after us. When I confronted the hostess she told me straight up I was wrong and didn't act as though she cared in any uncertain terms. Won't be back, very unfortunate because as I said before, food is fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RBistro1111, Owner at Rivertown Bistro, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We are very sorry that you felt the hostess was indifferent. That of course, is not the type of customer service we promote nor what we are known for. The couple that arrived after you had a reservation, thus had priority seating and you were seated as soon as the next table for walk-ins was available. On very busy evenings we do our best to estimate the waiting time for guests without reservations. We would love for you to return to enjoy the great food, you noted and suggest making reservations especially on the weekends. Sincerely, Cyndi Smith, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Big City Eating in a quaint historic town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

When you are the sister of a restaurant owner whom has appeared on food shows and been written up in well established newspapers and magazines, you have no choice but to be high maintenance when it comes to going out to eat, and this food snob LOVES the Bistro!
After renovations due to a kitchen fire, The Rivertown Bistro feels like it should belong in SoHo instead of historic Conway, SC. From the exposed kitchen to the U shaped, open upstairs allowing the diner to watch the goings on below, dinner is as much of a show as it is a delicious culinary experience. Starting off with the Clementine Cosmo or the Porch Sipper is a must! But be careful, those tasty treats go down so easily, they can get you in trouble!
The head chef is more like a food magician. Using local produce, meats and fish, the pairings he creates are beyond words. Whether you are a local or on your way to the beach from "the big city", The Bistro will be at the top of your list of places to eat: it is as on my sister's when she is in town-Now THAT is a recommendation!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivertown Bistro also viewed

Conway, Coastal South Carolina
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
 
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rivertown Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivertown Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.