We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivertown Bistro

Rivertown Bistro
1111 3rd Ave, Conway, SC 29526-5103
843-248-3733
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Conway
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Jefferson Hills, Pa.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Went there for lunch with a large group and everything was great. Sat on the front balcony/porch, everything fromt he drinks to desert was great. Service and food outstanding.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    34
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

While looking for a booklight at Target in Myrtle Beach, the sales attendant made a recommendation for dinner... "excellent low country cooking in Conway, just a short way up on SC 501, the second street on the left after the new bridge" is the Rivertown Bistro.

Conway is one of the oldest towns in South Carolina; created in 1734 along the western banks of the Waccamaw River, many of the buildings still espouse the old southern town feel. On the 3rd avenue of the town of Conway, Rivertown Bistro resides. Within its bricks and mortar and somewhat eclectic environment are a group of people whose only desire is to impeccably serve you GREAT food at modest prices.

A young hostess with a Brittany Spears smile brought my husband and I to the second floor, where we were seated overlooking the kitchen and the dining patrons below. Our server Joshua was quick to come to our table to offer the evening's specials and drinks. He took our order and quickly returned with warm bread and fine olive oil and herbs and our drinks (try the ginger peach margarita... it is amazing!). After deciding on our starters (fresh mesclun and raspberry salad with pecans and a delightful lobster appetizer), we both agreed to experience what we had come for - sauteed shrimp and andouille sausage, Palmetto Farms cheese grits, tasso gravy, chargrilled vegetables - it was to the point in portion, spice, flavour - appropriately served in a deep and wide bowl. Simply prepared but delightfully tasty food, exquisite service and attention to detail and comfortable ambience. Next year, on our trip down south, we will definitely visit the Rivertown Bistro again. It may be about 25 miles from Myrtle Beach, but this is definitely worth the drive to Conway.

http://rivertownbistro.com/rivertown_bistro.php

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Although we expected a river front view, the interior is decorated nicely. We went for lunch on a Saturday and they were very busy. We had great service. This restaurants has Blue Plate specials each day. Saturday's was Chicken on a Biscuit with Sausage Gravy. It was huge! Cooked perfectly, the exterior was seasoned and crunchy, the interior nice and juicy. I tired the Grilled Chicken on a pretzel bun, so good! Their lunch portions are generous and we both took half of our lunch home. They make their own yam chips and they were delicious! We will be back to try their varied dinner menu with friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Sat in the bar last night and had a fabulous experience. The girl bartender was friendly and always attentive. She went out of her way to make sure we were well taken care of. The food was delicious. Perfect wine and perfect drinks to make it a perfect night! Highly recommend sitting at the bar for a girls night or if you want to just have a drink by yourself. Always make you feel like you are at home!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

In the quiet historic city of Conway is the unassuming Rivertown Bistro. Contemporary decor , booths and tables and a separate room for the bar also with booths. Nice wine menu. many choices of starters, salads and entrees along with some specials. Blue cheese and all dressings made from scratch was delicious. Pork tenderloin wrapped in bacon with hashed brown potatoes with apples and cranberry chutney was scrumptious and the portion size more than adequate. The pecan tart was yummy and beautifully presented.....one is plenty to share. Our waitress was attentive but not overbearing. Nothing we asked was a problem. She knew the menu well. Loved everything about this place and will be back without a doubt.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivertown Bistro also viewed

Conway, Coastal South Carolina
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
 
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
Conway, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Rivertown Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivertown Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.