We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and given room with smoky odour.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites at the University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites at the University to your Saves list
Comfort Suites at the University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2480 US Hwy 501 East, Conway, SC 29526   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Conway
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced and given room with smoky odour.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I had a reservation for two nights for which I was in town working at the Conway Courthouse. Upon checking in, I realized I was charged a bit more than the family of 4 who was checking in before me. Not happy, but still checked in. After opening the door, I realized that the room had been smoked in, and I have severe asthma. I asked for a different room, however the property was booked and it was late. I got my refund and headed elsewhere.

Room Tip: Make sure they check your room to see if it has been smoked in, if you're an asthmatic like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMComfortConway, General Manager at Comfort Suites at the University, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We try to advise all guests that for the best rates...book early. Our rates will continue to rise to meet our competitors rates as our bookings increase. This allows us to offer the maximum value to our guests at any given time. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves. We strive to do our very best for each and every guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
29
9
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

typical comfort inn suites, clean and pleasant, you can tell the place is older, but was fine to stay in. Comfortable beds, decent clean pool.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel was fine but nothing outstanding. First of all, I would only stay here if you have no intentions of going to the beach. It is at least a 20 minute drive in from Conway.

Room- Standard king room with a suite area with a couch that was clean. There was a weird smell in the room. I think it was supposed to be air freshner but it was a little unpleasant. The tv in the room was an old tube that should be updated ASAP. The bathroom was fine; however, the shower did not drain quickly and there was always water a few inches deep in the tub after a shower.

Pool- didn't use it but it was tiny for a hotel this size.

Fitness room- didn't use it, but my wife who is small said the treadmill felt like it was breaking as she used it because of its age.

Breakfast- standard hotel breakfast....waffles, eggs,sausage, cereals, fruit, etc. The seating area is very small.

Staff- Very friendly and polite.

Location- good for the outlets on 501, golf, business, and CCU. If you want good dining and the beach look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Was there for 2 nights with my neice and her toddler, visiting relatives. Room was clean and big. Had microwave and refrigerator in room. Breakfast was good. My only complaint was that the TV was an older model and not a flat screen, but we weren't there that much and it was fine

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just returned from a work trip to Conway SC. We stayed at this hotel and was very pleased. The Staff was helpful and friendly and the rooms clean. It is in a good location for what I needed and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Great value for the money. Room was very clean and spacious and the staff was very friendly. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I stayed here one night on business. We did have problems finding this hotel on GPS as the civic number wasn't accepted. The hotel is a nice property. Check in was easy and friendly process. The parking lot was good. My room was clean, neat and tidy, bed was comfortable. I don't really care for the small pillows hotels seem to be using lately. Had a great nights sleep and found the hotel was quiet and comfortable. I would prefer a wide screen tv though!
Check out was easy. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again as I found it to be a good value

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites at the University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites at the University

Address: 2480 US Hwy 501 East, Conway, SC 29526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Conway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites at the University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Suites At the University, a Conway hotel near Coastal Carolina University. The Comfort Suites® At the University is conveniently located 10 miles from the Myrtle Beach International Airport. This Conway, SC hotel is minutes from championship golf courses like the Wild Wing Plantation and Legends Golf Club. Coastal Carolina University, the Myrtle Beach Speedway and Broadway at the Beach, offering more than 350 acres of shops, restaurants, nightlife and attractions, are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites at the University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites At The University Hotel Conway
Comfort Suites Conway
Conway Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites at the University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.