We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review - 9/2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7333 Garners Ferry Road, Columbia, SC 29209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    77
    43
    12
    13
See reviews for
119
25
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

After driving for 14 hours with 3 dogs, we finally got there! The rooms were very clean and had no odors. The staff especially the front desk were great. Breakfast was pretty good, loved the waffles. Overall it was a great experience and i will def stay at a La Quinta chain again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff were all really friendly, especially Wolf. He was super nice, always had a smile on his face and told us some great things to do around the area.

If you have the pleasure of meeting him, ask him about his interesting war stories!

As far as the rooms go... They weren't bad. They're clean and no tacky sheets or anything involved! The beds are so comfy, I wanted to bring it home with me! The bathrooms were pretty small and not the most appealing but I've seen worse. I stayed in the deluxe 2 queen beds room as well as the King sized "suite" and it pretty much looked the same just more roomier but same exact bathroom setup.

The pool was small too and always filled with kids so I didn't get a chance to enjoy it. The breakfast is what's expected, Im just always grateful when affordable hotels offer free meals!

One thing that was kind of annoying was the day of checkout, we did get a late start to packing up. We had a do not disturb sign and a couple times they knocked and then opened the door even though we said "we're not quite done packing, almost done though" and still had 20 minutes. Someone knocked the third time and said "it's time to checkout, checkout is at 11." I looked at my phone and it was literally 11:02. It was so silly.

Overall, this hotel is really well priced, clean, and for the most part the staff is really nice. Great place to stay if you're there for a graduation at fort jackson as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My fiancée and I spent the night as a part of a little road trip we were taking. The rate for the night's stay was pretty reasonable, barely coming in over $100 including taxes, which in my eyes is pretty good. The reasonable rate aside, the primary reason I picked this La Quinta over any of the rival local hotels was the absence of any pet fee. We were traveling with our dogs and not needing to pay for our pets to spend the night is very attractive. The internet was free and pretty quick, parking free and abundant, and the location was very convenient for travelers as it was just off the highway and near a bunch of restaurants and gas stations. The hotel is also just about a 10 minute drive from USC if you are staying in Columbia to visit the campus. That being said, it's certainly not on campus, or in the area that the students frequent, so if you want to get a feel for that area, you may want to consider staying elsewhere.

The room was a nice size, the bed was comfortable, and the appliances in the room were pretty new (new TV, modern fridge and microwave). The room was relatively clean, though the carpet did show some stains and the room could have benefited from a more detailed dusting. Still, I did not feel like I was staying in a dirty room, so my advice would be to keep your socks on if such things bother you. My fiancée would suggest I include that the hotel uses the small, square shaped pillows that are very popular in hotels, and she does not care for pillows like that.

All in all, if you are traveling and need a reasonably priced place to stay the night, especially if you are traveling with pets, then this is a good place to pick for the night. If you don't like staying in a hotel that allows pets, don't stay here as there were a good number of dogs staying at the hotel when we were there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very comfortable and homely stay. Conveniently located and is pet friendly. Nice breakfast and I got to enjoy the pool every evening after I was done from my work. I stayed there for 5 nights and my stay was very peaceful and nice. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Overall my stay was very nice. There was a breakfast and the staff were very helpful and nice throughout my 2 night stay. They provided me with a late checkout and helped get me my room for a second night on late notice

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson

Address: 7333 Garners Ferry Road, Columbia, SC 29209
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's easy to relax, stay energized, and get to where you need to be from the La Quinta Inn MainGate - Fort Jackson in Columbia, South Carolina. Downtown Columbia and the South Carolina State Capitol are a short six mile drive. The Colonial Center and Columbia Metropolitan Convention Center are only 6.5 miles, while William Brice Stadium is just seven miles from the hotel. Fort Jackson is only 1 mile away. Neighboring cities include Fort Acres, Fort Jackson, West Columbia, Cayce, and Sumter SC.Essential amenities like free high-speed Internet access throughout, fitness center, rooms with microwave and refrigerator, meeting facilities, free local calls, and Free Bright Side Breakfast® compliment our superior location to local businesses and major roadways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Maingate-Fort Jackson Hotel Columbia
Columbia La Quinta
La Quinta Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Columbia SE / Fort Jackson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.