We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok but a little weird...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Bush River Road, Columbia, SC 29210 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Columbia & Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“It's ok but a little weird...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'm a Diamond so you can trust this review.

I checked in and was greeted by a friendly front desk who advised me there was a new Honors lounge for Diamond members. I have been to many Doubletree hotels and this one was the first with a Diamond lounge I had encountered so I was curious. I went in the lounge and no one greeted me or advised on the protocol obtaining drinks etc. there was liquor beer in the fridge and wine. There was a charge for it all but the front desk said happy hour? No one was there to take money but you had to fill out a small form that was poorly copied and looked like it had been torn by hand.

The food was just awful they has rolls with ham and way way way overlooked egg roll things that where hard as a rock. I mean ok look at my other reviews i understand happy hour food is average at best trust me I've been in a few hundred hotels close to a thousand this was crap food most likely from the night before or some other function. Most Diamond lounges offer something special Every managers reception at the hundreds of Hampton Inns I've stayed at have been better than this.

I get to my room and looked at the coffee cup and lid and quickly noticed I'm not taking any coffee with me in the morning as nothing fit ( see photo).

Dinner was good ate on site had the Cuban sandwich which was huge and perfect. Other than that I didn't like the so called Diamond lounge which was worthless and the poor room accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Graves2, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear TheRealBillBrasky,
I would like to thank you for choosing the Doubletree Hotel Columbia, and for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor! We truly appreciate your comments, as we use all guest feedback to continuously improve moving forward. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and we look forward to your next visit!
Always at your service,
Steve Graves-General Manager, Doubletree Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    106
    65
    26
    14
See reviews for
65
51
18
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Indiana
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wow!
This reviewer stayed in the "junior suite" room #540. The cost (AAA discount and Diamond Hilton Status) was with tax less than $150.00.

Microwave, refrigerator, setting room, walk-in shower separate from the Jacuzzi, comfy bed, soft towels, immaculately cleaned, and not one but two balconies, and this package got the complimentary access to the HHonors room for drinks and a truly memorable (in a good way!) breakfast.

Oh...and two palmetto bugs (look like roaches) in the sleeping room. By the way, these critters have now gone on to wherever palmetto bugs go when squished.

Just two. Well, one ant was crawling on the wall.
These were reported to the front desk with the statement: "This is not a big deal for us, but might be for others." This reviewer suggested getting some bug spray and bug traps to room #540.

Had this not occurred (and know, fellow travelers, that these specific insects are OFTEN found in the southeaster States) this venue would have scored a perfect 5 stars out of 5. The venue was truly outstanding, the service without peer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Graves2, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear LMHC1RPH2,
Thank you for your recent stay with us, and thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor! We truly appreciate your comments, as we use all guest feedback to continuously improve moving forward. The next time you travel to the area, we hope that you’ll be our guest again.

Always at your service,
Steve Graves-General Manager, Doubletree Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel was clean, attractive, and appealing in public areas as well as the rooms. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfortable. I was travelling with my elderly mother and found it adequate for a handicapped person. I was also traveling with my small dog and loved the pet friendliness of the venue. While pets were in no way intrusive, they were welcome. It was a convenient venue for traveling with a pet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Graves2, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Sharon L,
Thank you for your kind words! I appreciate your comments about our staff and our property. I will be sure to pass your kudos along to the team. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Doubletree Columbia. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and we look forward to your next visit!
Always at your service,
Steve Graves-General Manager, Doubletree Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My stay at this hotel was not a pleasant experience at all. Upon arrival I experienced check-in issues with staff. After speaking with manager to resolve I was expecting the rest of my stay to be great. Low and behold, there were furry xxxx running across the floor in my room and a centipede crawling on the wall. Won't stay here again EVER.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Graves2, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Barbara T,
I'm so sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you had. Our number one priority is guests' comfort, health and safety. If you have a moment, we would like to follow up. Please contact us at your earliest convenience.
Always at your service,
Steve Graves - General Manager, Doubletree Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

this hotel is old, and the layout is crazy stupid. we had a balcony door that led to a random hallway. felt very 70's. the inside door latch was missing half of the mechanism, so that felt a little skeevy. the sink area was open with a weird non wall of shelves between it and the 2 beds. so, the person getting ready in the am has no choice but to wake the rest of the room. the tub was old, chipped, and small. oh, and the walls and are very very thin. I could hear every coming and going both on my floor and the one above. every toilet flush, every door slam, every footstep. would never ever stay here again. expected quite a bit more for 166usd. yuck.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Graves2, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear IHH12,
Your feedback is incredibly important to us as we ensure the comfort and safety of all of our guests. We certainly do encourage all guests to let us know if they have concerns during their stay so we can help resolve any issues as soon as possible. We've shared your comments with our team and appreciate your review. It will certainly help us improve for you and future guests.

Always at your service,
Steve Graves - General Manager, Doubletree Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Business becomes a Pleasure when you encounter great service that is backed by friendly faces and professionlism as well. The Staff at Hiton are very warm, cordial, polite and professional. I don't see any reason why you cannot "Take Care Of Business"!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Graves2, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Lavinia W,
Thank you for your recent stay with us, and thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor! We truly appreciate your comments, as we use all guest feedback to continuously improve moving forward. The next time you travel to the area, we hope that you’ll be our guest again.

Always at your service,
Steve Graves-General Manager, Doubletree Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great facility. Rooms are excellent. Food is vey good - even feeding 700 people at one time. Thursday night dinner was very good. Will definitely stay again. Staff is courteous and helpful. Check-in and check-out was efficient. Overlall a very nice hotel, conveniently located to main roads and the city of Columbia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Graves2, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear David R,
Thank you for your kind words! I appreciate your comments about our staff and our property. I will be sure to pass your kudos along to the team. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Doubletree Columbia. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and we look forward to your next visit!
Always at your service,
Steve Graves-General Manager, Doubletree Columbia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC

Address: 2100 Bush River Road, Columbia, SC 29210 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Columbia & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#22 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia South Carolina hotel at the crossroads of I-20 and I-26 near Lake Murray is a modern, full service hotel located minutes from the South Carolina capitol building and downtown Columbia. We are less than 10 minutes from any area attraction, Riverbanks Zoo, EdVenture Children’s Museum, University of South Carolina, Columbia Convention Center, the Columbia Metropolitan airport, South Carolina State Museum, Colonial Life arena, golf courses, and the Vista entertainment district. Our spacious contemporary guest rooms and suites feature pampering baths, large work desks with two phone lines and data ports, high-def 32-inch flat screen TVs, luxurious Sweet Dreams bedding, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed internet access also available in lobby and public areas, and coffee or tea by celebrity chef Wolfgang Puck. Our pet-friendly hotel also provides guest amenities including a full services restaurant, an atrium bar, in-room dining, outdoor swimming pool, open sundeck, sand volleyball court, 24-hour fitness center, complimentary airport shuttle, meeting facilities for up to 1,800 people, and a gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Columbia
Radisson Columbia
Columbia Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.