We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay while on business in Columbia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Bush River Road, Columbia, SC 29210 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Columbia & Conference Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay while on business in Columbia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Had a quick stay for business on 8/22. Hotel is nice but showing it's age. In it's prior years it was a very nice Sheraton so all of that still remains though aged. The bar area is nice and a fairly descent menu though a little pricey. $30 for a filet, come on, it is a hotel restautant.....Elevators are slow and seem to be worn out. Front desk staff is nice and very helpful and offer up warm cookies. As others have noted, air conditioner units seem to be a little extra noisy. Needed to turn off to hear TV versus raising volume on TV so loud the neighbors could hear. Will stay again when in Columbia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    99
    59
    23
    13
See reviews for
60
42
17
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is an old hotel with a very good nice looking renovation. It's priced appropriately for the average quality and location...cheaper than downtown and NW Harbison areas. The rooms are spacious, all public areas and guest rooms nicely redone. That having been said, there are some things you just can't change about an old hotel without a huge financial commitment.... during high demand times in the morning you just can't get hot water and the a/c units are loud. If you give yourself an extra 20-30 minutes of letting the water run on hot you can eventually get a nice steamy shower but don't expect to get one any sooner than that if alot of other guests are also showering. At other times, like afternoon, you'll get hot water within 5 mins. We had a king suite. They seem to have a large percentage of king suites so if you're eligible for an upgrade you have a good shot at it. The suite was spacious with a dining table, frig and pull out sofa. However, don't plan on sleeping on the pull out sofas. It's impossible unless you leave it folded up and just sleep on it as a couch. The mattress on the pull out feels like you are sitting on meshed wire with no covering and even a kid can't sleep on that thing. I couldn't even sit on it when it was folded out like a bed! Lounge was very cute and good service there. The restaurant buffet was luke warm in the morning and the servers were friendly. Service over all was average. Would I stay here again? Maybe, if I can't find anything else available at a reasonable price. I can't complain since the King bed was comfy, it was clean and spacious and I only paid in the $80s which I felt to be a bargain on a high demand weekend.

Room Tip: Seem to be lots of King Suites if you're eligible for an upgrade you should have a good chance o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel Doubletree was all I had hoped for. The rooms were very clean. The bedding was clean and fresh. Loved the sleep number mattresses. The bathrooms looked as tho they had been recently remodeled. Granite counter tops. We enjoyed our stay there very much. They offered us warm chocolate chip cookies when we checked in, I thought that was a great touch. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We eat one night at their restaurateur. Their food was wonderful and the staff there were very nice. Loved the experience. The bar there is great too. I love watching the show called "Hotel Impossible" on the Travel Channel with Anthony Melchiorri. I looked for all the things he looks at when he goes into a place. He would have given Doubletree three thumbs up and a AAA score. I would recommend them to everyone.

My least favorite things are minor. The Restaurateur prices was a tad bit high and the menu was a little limited in the chooses. And they really need a bigger sign out front so you can find them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel was better than I thought it would be. The design is nice and from what I understand this used to be a Radisson. When we first walked in, we were greeted at the reception. They quickly found our reservation and gave us our room keys. They even offered us warm cookies! (they are kept behind the counter in a mini oven) Our room was nice and clean and had sleep number beds.(How awesome is that?!?!) I liked the design of the room and the furniture in the building overall was very nice. I would like to add that I have pretty bad allergies and the hotel must have been clean because I would have been hacking my head off if it weren't. The hallways were nice and lit and there was ample parking.

There were a few down sides to this stay. #1. Our air conditioning unit didn't seem to be working, which wasn't really an issue because i had a summer cold and didn't want it on. #2. My sleep number bed didn't work. :-( #3 The tub was slow to drain.
Overall I enjoyed my experience and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We were traveling and decided we needed to stop for the night. For the price it was what we needed: clean, priced right, and easy to find. The only issues were that our AC cover was held on with scotch tape and fell off during the night (scared me bc I thought someone was in the room). From the looks of it, it may have been done by a previous guest who was trying to avoid incidental charges. The other more pressing issue was that in the morning we had NO hot water in the shower. The sink was fine but none in the shower. My husband suffered through it. We were on a time crunch so didn't call to ask for another room but we did mention on the way out. The receptionist quickly said sorry and offered us free breakfast. We explained we were in a rush so the offered it to go. Again we were only there for a short time and it fit our needs.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I think one of the things I am learning to like about DoubleTree is none of them are the same. Typically a re-branded hotel with the DoubleTree service levels, as this one is.
I have been here a half a dozen times and always enjoy my stays.

Room Tip: The X55 Rooms are Jacuzzi suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Doubletree Inn on Bush River Road looks great on the inside; a chic retro-modern decor with really nice seating areas and a nicely themed restaurant with rich, dark wood and silk drapery to separate booths from one another.

The conference area looks worn and in need of new carpet. As far as conference rooms go, the one I was in was average - although the A/V support was really good.

The staff - and I mean every person I encountered who worked for the hotel - was professional, friendly, and went out of their way to make sure my stay was enjoyable.

The entrance to the Doubletree is not well marked and then you have to drive up past what looks like an abandoned house/business. There was a 18 wheeler parked on the driveway the days I was there.

The room was okay - I was too tired to take notice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC

Address: 2100 Bush River Road, Columbia, SC 29210 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Columbia & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Columbia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia South Carolina hotel at the crossroads of I-20 and I-26 near Lake Murray is a modern, full service hotel located minutes from the South Carolina capitol building and downtown Columbia. We are less than 10 minutes from any area attraction, Riverbanks Zoo, EdVenture Children’s Museum, University of South Carolina, Columbia Convention Center, the Columbia Metropolitan airport, South Carolina State Museum, Colonial Life arena, golf courses, and the Vista entertainment district. Our spacious contemporary guest rooms and suites feature pampering baths, large work desks with two phone lines and data ports, high-def 32-inch flat screen TVs, luxurious Sweet Dreams bedding, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed internet access also available in lobby and public areas, and coffee or tea by celebrity chef Wolfgang Puck. Our pet-friendly hotel also provides guest amenities including a full services restaurant, an atrium bar, in-room dining, outdoor swimming pool, open sundeck, sand volleyball court, 24-hour fitness center, complimentary airport shuttle, meeting facilities for up to 1,800 people, and a gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Columbia
Radisson Columbia
Columbia Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, SC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.