We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Assembly Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #34 of 92 hotels in Columbia
District Heights
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was nice and clean courtyard. The staff was very polite and helpful. Check in and out was very easy, I definitely recommend this location. The room was a nice size and the beds very comfortable. I remember seeing that you had to pay for parking but I didn't. This location was very convenient and it is extremely close to the university.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932ChrisJ, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I will share your comments with the team. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    52
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
46
18
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great location downtown, close to restaurants. Overnight stay for business. Staff did a great job at registration, rooms were clean and fresh. Took a room facing the back of the building to minimize the traffic noise...good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Last week I took my son on a tour of colleges in South Carolina. We ended with a tour of University of South Carolina, followed by a Saturday Football game. As I was planning our trip, I did a quick search to find a hotel close to the campus and booked it. Boy, did we get lucky!

The Courtyard Columbia is located on the edge of campus. We were able to park at the hotel and walk around to see some additional parts of the school. We walked to dinner both nights, one time to the Vista section and one time to California Dreaming, both of which were just a couple of blocks away.

The next morning we got a ride to the stadium, but there was also a school sponsored shuttle within a block of the hotel.

The staff was extremely helpful and seemed interested in making sure we had everything that we needed.

The room was well maintained and we were able to get a non-smoking room with two queen beds.

My only complaint (which is outside of the hotel's control) is that trains go through Columbia all night and we definitely heard them from our room. Maybe the hotel could put in better windows to minimize the noise. Of course, I told my son that if he decides to go to school here, he better get used to it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was in town for a few days for a business trip and this was a great place for our team. The lobby is nice (big and modern), and the location is perfect for our needs. We walked to the "Vista" area on Gervais for dinner each night, and I even walked to the USC campus one night which is only a few blocks away.

They got a 'very good' instead of execllent for a few small reasons, none of which would keep me from staying there again. I thought my room (suite) was a little small for what the price I was paying, the road traffic noise was a little high (I was only on the 2nd floor, almost level with the street) and you can't make a left-hand turn onto the property if you are headed South on Assembly Street, so you have to plan your approach (either around the block or U-turn).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Went for a campus visit over Fall Break, and there can't be a more convenient hotel for that since it's in the middle of campus. Super nice staff and the hotel was very clean for a property as busy as this one. Parking on the lower level is ridiculously tight, but there's plenty of room on the 2nd level and outdoors on the 3rd level. All dining was at least a couple of blocks away and the terrain is steep around there. All of these are minor comments. This is a very nice, clean "budget" hotel that is super convenient if you need to be near campus.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front face a busy street and on the back there's a pool. Up high might be your best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Purchased 3 rooms for Fri and sat nights the weekend of 10/12-10-14 so my family could attend a wedding and reception that was taking place at the hotel.
First impression....CLEAN...MODERN.
The hotel was had been renovated in recent years and they did a FANTASTIC JOB.
Staff was polite and helpful. Within short walking distance to USC campus and the Capitol.

Now about the wedding. Staff did a fantasic job with setting up ceremony room. At the completion of the ceremony, while the guests were in the lobby enjoying some beverages, the staff was turning over the room for the reception. Since I DJ'ed the wedding, I saw first hand what an undertaking this was. They not only made it look fantastic, but stayed on schedule. They met or exceeded all expectations.
This wil be my Go To place in Columbia, S.C.

Room Tip: Back side rooms are a little bit quieter...Rsetaurant "California Dreaming" is one block a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Walk to everything on campus. Just diagonally across the street from the USC fitness center. And directly across the street from Carolina Coliseum. Pretty standard Courtyard lobby, pool area nice, fitness room nice, staff always very friendly and helpful. Rates fluctuate dramatically during peak campus events like Parents Weekend. Non-peak I can usually get a rate just under $100 but peak rates can easily be double that (and more). Marriott Diamond members receive free parking, which is nice so you can just leave your car there and walk. Ceiling height of garage is low but standard SUVs & vans seem to be fine. 1 time out of 4 I was able to get an upgrade to a suite as a diamond member.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC

Address: 630 Assembly Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC is located in the heart of the University Historic area within walking distance to the Colonial Arena, Columbia Convention Center, Koger Center, State Capitol and The Vistas Entertainment District. Amenities include a new state of the art Fitness Center, complimentary Guest Appreciation receptions on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5 to 6:30 with free beer, wine and appetizers and free wireless internet access throughout the Hotel. Complimentary transportation is provided to the Vistas and Five Points restaurants as well as neighboring businesses. Cocky's Bar provides libations Monday through Saturday evenings and a dinner menu is offered Sunday through Thursday nights fromt 5-10pm. The Courtyard USC also has complimentary access to the Capital City Club, a private restaurant and bar on top of the tallest building in South Carolina! Courtyard Columbia is the premier sponsor of USC Gamecock Athletics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Columbia Downtown At Usc Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia
Columbia Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.