We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect USC location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Assembly Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect USC location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Walk to everything on campus. Just diagonally across the street from the USC fitness center. And directly across the street from Carolina Coliseum. Pretty standard Courtyard lobby, pool area nice, fitness room nice, staff always very friendly and helpful. Rates fluctuate dramatically during peak campus events like Parents Weekend. Non-peak I can usually get a rate just under $100 but peak rates can easily be double that (and more). Marriott Diamond members receive free parking, which is nice so you can just leave your car there and walk. Ceiling height of garage is low but standard SUVs & vans seem to be fine. 1 time out of 4 I was able to get an upgrade to a suite as a diamond member.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    78
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
63
24
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, GA
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I recently stayed here while moving my daughter back into her apartment for college. I got it through Priceline, and was very excited to try it out for the first time. But then when I read the reviews on TA, I didn't think they were very good. But it was a great stay! I guess I had a suite, since I thought most of the Courtyards had little kitchens or sitting areas. But what can one expect for $56 per night, right? They add on $10.00 for parking if they think to ask you if you have a car, but they don't give you anything to put in your car to say you have paid. There was no refrigerator in my room, which I didn't require anyway. I jokingly asked when I checked in if I could have a room with a view, since I didn't expect anything (even though I had a Marriott card) since I was staying with Priceline. But the clerk told me he was putting me on the top floor (9), and I could either have a room with a nice view or a room on the quieter side of the hotel. So I told him to surprise me and he gave me the quieter room. I didn't have breakfast there because it was $10.95 and I didn't want to pay for it. I had a 9am walk to the campus for breakfast at Russell Hall, and then walked around campus like I love to do every time I am there.

There are 3 levels of parking. By the time I got back the first night I had to park on the second level. The spaces are tight for someone with a minivan. The 2nd night, I had to go to the 3rd level, which is outdoors. And I was going a one-way direction, wondering why this jerk was driving towards me and making ME back up when he was going the wrong way. It turns out, he worked there, and was moving his car to make room for a customer to park his car. He told me there were no more spots, and he was making one, and that I could park behind him and it would be OK. It was really very nice of him. I don't think the parking is normally that bad. It ended up being the night before the Sorority Rush was starting, and 100 or so Sorority women had to stay in the hotel since they were working Rush and not allowed to talk to anyone during it. So they probably had a gazillion local cars there that wouldn't normally be there.

Oh, I did bring a "white noise" machine. (I had read it might be noisy on a TA post. And I could still hear noises, but it wasn't as bad. I think it was from my fan in my AC, even when turned off. (not entirely sure what it was from, since I didn't try to pinpoint it.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks so much for commenting on your recent stay. We do our best to provide the friendliest service and accommodations in Columbia. By the way, all our rooms do have refrigerators. It is located in the dresser armoire. We hope we see you again soon! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

To move our son back to campus for his senior year at the University of South Carolina, we booked a room at the campus Courtyard. This visit brought back memories of the first time we stayed here the Summer of 2009 for his pre-Freshman registration session, and we've been coming back to this hotel every year, since.

For this trip, we (the parents) were only in town for a day to help get his stuff out of storage, and all of his things from home unpacked and moved into his dorm room. This has become a fun family activity -- one last thing to do together before school starts.

This is the go-to place for out-of-state parents taking their students to school. It's a normal Courtyard: standard, normal rooms, free breakfast and wifi, and most important to us, walking distance to most of the on-campus buildings and dorm rooms. For parent's weekends, which we attended every year, the location is good because it is on the side of campus closest to the football stadium... a must do for parent's weekends: SEC football is an unforgetable experience.

The bar/lounge area in the lobby is a very sociable place to meet other parents. Also, you will find the hotel staff to be warm, friendly and welcoming.

Some issues you need to consider: You need to book rooms early. We booked move-in weekend stay 2 months ago. On more than one occasion, the hotel has been hosting a party, that has been a little noisy. The parking garage is small and a pain to get in and out of; you don't want to be the last car in at night. Nothing is a show-stopper.

We'll be back, and we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks for our comments regarding your stay with us last week. The USC Move-in weekend is a busy time for the city, welcoming all the students back to school for the Fall. We have a great location close to all the USC venues and Sports facilities and yes! Please book early since we are the closest hotel to the University! We appreciate you recognized our friendly staff. They are always there to help in any way! Hope to see you soon again for a football game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

While staying at this hotel this past weekend I was not that pleased with the service of the housekeeping staff. My room as not made up on of the days and found hair from past guest on the bed and in the shower. I have never had this happen to me at another hotel. This hotel should take a look at their housekeeping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us recently. I apologize for the sub standard condition of your room and have reviewed the comments with our housekeeping staff to ensure it does not happen in the future. We take our service standards very seriously and work hard to provide the highest service levels at all time. Thank you for your business. If you are in the Columbia area again, please contact the Hotel in advance and we will be happy to upgrade your reservation to a suite. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I chose this location for its access to the archive library where there are loads of genealogical materials. The hotel was very nice and close to places to eat. It also had covered parking. Good place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay. Our prime location does make it so convenient to get to USC buildings, the State Capital, Colonial Life Arena and the Entertainment districts. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I don't know why people complain at all about this hotel -- it has a lovely modern design and rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. I had no noise issues. At one point some USC students who had been partying got rowdy out on the street at night and police were called to take care of it. I looked out my window and saw what was going on and went to tell my sister in her room and accidentally forgot my room key -- called staff and they came up immediately with another key. We asked them what was going on in the street below due to the police and the woman said, "It's OK, you're safe, just some students who got too loud." She was so reassuring and made us feel better immediately. What happened with the students was NOT the hotel's fault. Overall this is a lovely place in a terrific location close to USC campus, State House grounds, etc and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay earlier this month. We strive to provide the best service possible and exceed our guests' expectations every day. We do have a great location and offer complimentary transportation to several nearby attractions and restaurants including the Five Points Area and Vistas Entertainment district. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Ohio
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here for several nights during a conference. Nothing much to add to what you may have already read. Staff was efficient and quite nice. In fact, while walking to the parking lot, I was greeted with "Good morning, Sunshine" by someone in housekeeping. Now about that parking lot. It might just be best to drive past the first floor and go to the second or third. I drive a small Prius and I even had problems parking on the main floor. Check was easy. Elevators quick. Room was okay. I had a view of a rooftop. Street view was said to be louder from traffic but also hotter in the late afternoon. Unless you are on the higher floors on the westside, the view is blocked. Air conditioner was a little loud but cooled quickly. Breakfast was good although the first several days they only had two flavors of yogurt. Staff is breakfast ara is always there to keep your coffee cups full with a smile to boot. I went with healthy choices but someone is there to cook your eggs to your liking. Dinner and a bar is available at night but there are plenty of places nearby (The Vista) for fine dining. There are also several places to eat within a half block. Th exercise room was small but enough for me. Towels, headsets, TV for all machines available. Nice touches. Overall, a nice experience. Far better than I thought it was going to be.

Room Tip: West side more scenic but hotter. Go for room over pool on eastside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Our staff is the friendliest in Columbia and we take great pride in providing the best service every day. Our parking garage is a bit tight, but the outdoor upper lot has plenty of room for larger cars and trucks. Our location is second to none, closest to the Vistas and Five Points Entertainment districts. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC

Address: 630 Assembly Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Columbia
#27 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC is located in the heart of the University Historic area within walking distance to the Colonial Arena, Columbia Convention Center, Koger Center, State Capitol and The Vistas Entertainment District. Amenities include a new state of the art Fitness Center, complimentary Guest Appreciation receptions on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5 to 6:30 with free beer, wine and appetizers and free wireless internet access throughout the Hotel. Complimentary transportation is provided to the Vistas and Five Points restaurants as well as neighboring businesses. Cocky's Bar provides libations Monday through Saturday evenings and a dinner menu is offered Sunday through Thursday nights fromt 5-10pm. The Courtyard USC also has complimentary access to the Capital City Club, a private restaurant and bar on top of the tallest building in South Carolina! Courtyard Columbia is the premier sponsor of USC Gamecock Athletics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Columbia Downtown At Usc Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia
Columbia Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.