We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go-to place for out-of-state parents moving their student into USC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 Assembly Street, Columbia, SC 29201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Naperville, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Go-to place for out-of-state parents moving their student into USC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

To move our son back to campus for his senior year at the University of South Carolina, we booked a room at the campus Courtyard. This visit brought back memories of the first time we stayed here the Summer of 2009 for his pre-Freshman registration session, and we've been coming back to this hotel every year, since.

For this trip, we (the parents) were only in town for a day to help get his stuff out of storage, and all of his things from home unpacked and moved into his dorm room. This has become a fun family activity -- one last thing to do together before school starts.

This is the go-to place for out-of-state parents taking their students to school. It's a normal Courtyard: standard, normal rooms, free breakfast and wifi, and most important to us, walking distance to most of the on-campus buildings and dorm rooms. For parent's weekends, which we attended every year, the location is good because it is on the side of campus closest to the football stadium... a must do for parent's weekends: SEC football is an unforgetable experience.

The bar/lounge area in the lobby is a very sociable place to meet other parents. Also, you will find the hotel staff to be warm, friendly and welcoming.

Some issues you need to consider: You need to book rooms early. We booked move-in weekend stay 2 months ago. On more than one occasion, the hotel has been hosting a party, that has been a little noisy. The parking garage is small and a pain to get in and out of; you don't want to be the last car in at night. Nothing is a show-stopper.

We'll be back, and we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks for our comments regarding your stay with us last week. The USC Move-in weekend is a busy time for the city, welcoming all the students back to school for the Fall. We have a great location close to all the USC venues and Sports facilities and yes! Please book early since we are the closest hotel to the University! We appreciate you recognized our friendly staff. They are always there to help in any way! Hope to see you soon again for a football game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    78
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
63
24
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

While staying at this hotel this past weekend I was not that pleased with the service of the housekeeping staff. My room as not made up on of the days and found hair from past guest on the bed and in the shower. I have never had this happen to me at another hotel. This hotel should take a look at their housekeeping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us recently. I apologize for the sub standard condition of your room and have reviewed the comments with our housekeeping staff to ensure it does not happen in the future. We take our service standards very seriously and work hard to provide the highest service levels at all time. Thank you for your business. If you are in the Columbia area again, please contact the Hotel in advance and we will be happy to upgrade your reservation to a suite. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I chose this location for its access to the archive library where there are loads of genealogical materials. The hotel was very nice and close to places to eat. It also had covered parking. Good place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay. Our prime location does make it so convenient to get to USC buildings, the State Capital, Colonial Life Arena and the Entertainment districts. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I don't know why people complain at all about this hotel -- it has a lovely modern design and rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. I had no noise issues. At one point some USC students who had been partying got rowdy out on the street at night and police were called to take care of it. I looked out my window and saw what was going on and went to tell my sister in her room and accidentally forgot my room key -- called staff and they came up immediately with another key. We asked them what was going on in the street below due to the police and the woman said, "It's OK, you're safe, just some students who got too loud." She was so reassuring and made us feel better immediately. What happened with the students was NOT the hotel's fault. Overall this is a lovely place in a terrific location close to USC campus, State House grounds, etc and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay earlier this month. We strive to provide the best service possible and exceed our guests' expectations every day. We do have a great location and offer complimentary transportation to several nearby attractions and restaurants including the Five Points Area and Vistas Entertainment district. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Ohio
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here for several nights during a conference. Nothing much to add to what you may have already read. Staff was efficient and quite nice. In fact, while walking to the parking lot, I was greeted with "Good morning, Sunshine" by someone in housekeeping. Now about that parking lot. It might just be best to drive past the first floor and go to the second or third. I drive a small Prius and I even had problems parking on the main floor. Check was easy. Elevators quick. Room was okay. I had a view of a rooftop. Street view was said to be louder from traffic but also hotter in the late afternoon. Unless you are on the higher floors on the westside, the view is blocked. Air conditioner was a little loud but cooled quickly. Breakfast was good although the first several days they only had two flavors of yogurt. Staff is breakfast ara is always there to keep your coffee cups full with a smile to boot. I went with healthy choices but someone is there to cook your eggs to your liking. Dinner and a bar is available at night but there are plenty of places nearby (The Vista) for fine dining. There are also several places to eat within a half block. Th exercise room was small but enough for me. Towels, headsets, TV for all machines available. Nice touches. Overall, a nice experience. Far better than I thought it was going to be.

Room Tip: West side more scenic but hotter. Go for room over pool on eastside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Our staff is the friendliest in Columbia and we take great pride in providing the best service every day. Our parking garage is a bit tight, but the outdoor upper lot has plenty of room for larger cars and trucks. Our location is second to none, closest to the Vistas and Five Points Entertainment districts. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed here one night during a business trip. Parking on 1st floor is hard to get in and out of. Hotel lobby and staff were wonderful. The room was very clean. The sheets needed to be replaced. They were old - thin and fuzzy (my co-worker did not have this issue in her room). The walls are pretty thin. I had small children next to me. I could hear everything they were saying. Good thing is they got quiet at bedtime. It was a quiet hotel after 10 pm. Within walking distance of great restaurants. Being downtown, you will be able to hear things from the outside. I heard a lady screaming and laughing outside and then sirens during this night. Not a big deal. It is expected to hear this kind of stuff when staying at a downtown hotel. Overall, a good hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us. We have a great, friendly staff at the Courtyard and work very hard at taking care of all our guests! We do have an outdoor parking lot that is more convenient if you have a larger car or SUV. Our shuttle also can take guests to various locations nearby on a complimentary basis. Thanks again for sharing your comments and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The walls are very thin and you can hear conversations in the next room. We requested a new room b/c the people next door were being loud, but the management was unwilling to accommodate our request. Terrible service!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardColumbia, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience of the noise in the room adjoining you. We should have done a better job of resolving the issue and providing the best customer service you expected. I have reviewed the process with my Front Office Manager and will ensure it does not happen again. Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again soon in Columbia .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC

Address: 630 Assembly Street, Columbia, SC 29201
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Columbia
#28 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC is located in the heart of the University Historic area within walking distance to the Colonial Arena, Columbia Convention Center, Koger Center, State Capitol and The Vistas Entertainment District. Amenities include a new state of the art Fitness Center, complimentary Guest Appreciation receptions on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5 to 6:30 with free beer, wine and appetizers and free wireless internet access throughout the Hotel. Complimentary transportation is provided to the Vistas and Five Points restaurants as well as neighboring businesses. Cocky's Bar provides libations Monday through Saturday evenings and a dinner menu is offered Sunday through Thursday nights fromt 5-10pm. The Courtyard USC also has complimentary access to the Capital City Club, a private restaurant and bar on top of the tallest building in South Carolina! Courtyard Columbia is the premier sponsor of USC Gamecock Athletics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Columbia Downtown At Usc Hotel Columbia
Marriott Columbia
Columbia Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Columbia Downtown at USC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.