We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At Claussen's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn At Claussen's to your Saves list
The Inn At Claussen's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2003 Greene Street, Columbia, SC 29205-1638   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Modern rooms in an old bakery building with great staff. It's just fun! Love the decor. You order breakfast the night before and it's delivered to your room. There is an evening cocktail hour with a complimentary drink, cheese and crackers, just a nice end to the day. Small work out room but enough to get a good workout. Great location in the trendy 5 Points area, easy access to campus. Were here on college visit and will definitely return! Columbia has a lot of character with it's older buildings and this hotel feels like the poster child for that charm. If my duaghter chooses USC this will be our regular spot. Got a reservation on Hotwire for $89.

Room Tip: Don't miss Pauly's Front Porch, just a few blocks away. Featured on Diners, Dives and Drive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    58
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
41
79
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johns Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent two enjoyable nights at Claussen's and liked our room with the cheerful color, newest of the fixtures and the proximity to the University of South Carolina campus, State House and five corners or points. Having breakfast in our room was a nice feature and there is complementary wine and cheese and crackers. There is free wi fi and plenty of free off street parking. The staff was friendly and right next door is the Cellar on Greene Restaurant which was very good. There was an appetizer, entree and dessert for $22.00. The Riverbank Botanical Garden and Zoo is a must. The complex has two distinct features of the gardens and then a tram will take you to the zoo. The SC State Museum was also enjoyed as there are many features for the young and mature. We also drove about twenty minutes to the Little Pigs Barbecue on 4927 Alpine. This is the in place where the locals have their casual barbecue, chicken, pork chops and fish. It was a fascinating place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I recently stayedat this historical hotel. It has a lotof character, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the boutique hotel is very stylishly done. In addition, the hotel offers little "extras"to make you feel at home... a complimentary glass of wine in the evening, and breakfast delivered to your room. The Five Points area offers several pubs, nice restaurants, and access to USC. We'll definitely recommend this hotel to others in need of a hotel in Columbia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Spent 2 nights here and was very disappointed. First impression of the Inn is wonderful, it is a historic building (former bakery) that has been renovated and they did a great job! The rooms are very large and comfortable. Then there is the breakfast......definitely continental!! Your choice is bagel, croissant, hard boiled eggs, fruit cup and yogurt. Having stayed in many less expensive hotels with complimentary breakfast, the breakfast here was a big disappointment. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful and others were "stuffy", not at all what I normally experience in the South. There is also a train track very close to the Inn, and while it did not bother me, if you are sensitive to noise.....the train going through is very loud!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I loved the room we had, but was not impressed with the overall value of the property. The staff was courteous and took reasonable care of us. While some said the the neighborhood wasn't the greatest, we took several walks and thought the area was fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Based on others' earlier review, I thought this might be the hotel we were looking for. We wanted a place within walking distance of shops and restaurants, and my husband always looks for a place that includes breakfast. This was perfect! We stayed two nights and walked a few steps to two different restaurants--both were excellent. (And, we happened to time our visit with Restaurant Week--an added bonus.)

We were on the first floor, which included an outdoor sitting area. Breakfast is light--with choices of breads and fruits with juice and coffee/tea. Breakfast is delivered to your room. Staff was helpful and friendly. Within walking distance of little shops and the university. Car is necessary to drive to the historic area and walking areas along the river.

Note that the property is close to train tracks, which might be a problem for light sleepers.

Room Tip: First floor rooms on east side of building have little patio areas outside the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have visited Columbia many times (kids in college) and this is my favorite. Its a convenient location, the staff is very efficient and friendly, and they bring you breakfast. I will stay there again/

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn At Claussen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Claussen's

Address: 2003 Greene Street, Columbia, SC 29205-1638
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#19 Business Hotel in Columbia
#19 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn At Claussen's 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality at it’s finest in the heart of Columbia, South Carolina. Listed on the National Historic Register, The Inn at Claussen’s blends historic grandeur, exquisite service and eco-friendly amenities in perfect proportion. Once home to Claussen’s Bakery we are now a 29 room Boutique Inn, just steps away from some of the best dining and shopping in South Carolina. Whether you’re taking a quick vacation or getting down to business, we have all the modern comforts to help you get away or stay connected. At The Inn at Claussen’s you can always expect your breakfast to be delivered to your room in the morning, a glass of wine in the evenings and gracious hospitality around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn At Claussen's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Claussen`s Hotel Columbia
Hotel At Claussens
At Claussens Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn At Claussen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.