We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff,large clean room,great location-I recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At Claussen's

Save Saved
You added The Inn At Claussen's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn At Claussen's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2003 Greene Street, Columbia, SC 29205-1638   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$25 off room rate
Ranked #14 of 92 hotels in Columbia
Macon, North Carolina
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Attentive staff,large clean room,great location-I recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights on our SC Adventure through 3 different cities--starting here. Room was large,clean and comfortable. Minor bathroom problems of a dripping tub faucet and loose potty seat,but otherwise quiet stay in a very comfortable 2 queen bed room. Didn't have a refrig so had to use ice and a cooler to keep things cool. Great breakfast delivered to your room at time selected--had milk, OJ, yogurt, and blueberry muffin--my wife substituted coffee for milk and a croissant for the muffin. In the evening we had a glass of wine(too dry for my taste) stayed with the lemonade) and cheese and some small sweet -tasting cookies. You can walk to 5 points and the shopping.Also very close to down town to the zoo and the Town Community Theater. Found a wonderful little sandwich shop on Sumter called Carolina Cafe just 1/2 block from the theater. Wished were going to be around the next 3 weekends,as they are presenting "Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat",my favorite Andrew Lloyd Webber musical. DONT MISS the ZOO!! It's simply awesome,and with the shaded walkways an easy tour even on a warm sunny day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    50
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
28
70
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I spent a short weekend here just to get away for a little bit. This place was perfect for what we were looking for. Great location with a lot of restaurants and things to do in the area. The Inn itself was very clean and welcoming and a nice change from the usual big name chains. We had a great breakfast delivered in the morning and the staff was very helpful overall. If you're heading to Columbia, definitely consider this place. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Have been to Columbia several time but this was the first time I stayed at the Inn. Fabulous location, great customer service, convenient to everything. I will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smoky Mountain, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Inn. It was beautiful on the outside and unique on the inside. The parking was not idea. They had 3 spaces out front. The rest of the parking was behind the hotel and not in a good area. They had cameras up and signs posted saying the Inn wasn't responsable for break ins. On Sunday, a vehicle 5 spaces down from our had been broken into. They had busted out the passenger side glass of the vehicle. We spoke with one of the owners and she said they went though everyting in their vehicle.

Also, there are train tracks that run right beside the hotel and several trains pass throughout the day and night. At least 3 trains pass between the hours of 10 pm-6am.

We booked through a Gropon Deal that included a Welcome "basket" of water, snacks and logo coffee mugs. Well, we didn't get a "basket" just a bottle of water for each of us per day and a bag of chips for each of us per day. Also, they advertised a wine and cheese reception each evening. We don't drink and on Friday they did offer lemmonade with the cheese. On Saturday, nothing was offered.

As far as the breakfast goes, you had a choice of what you could order and when you wanted it to be delivered. We ordered a yogurt parfit with granola, a blueberry muffin with mixed berries and fresh fruit each day. Well, our yogurt just had a couple of berries in the top of it....no granola. We got the blueberry muffin....no mixed berries and we never got our fresh fruit. When I was checking out on Sunday, the gentlemen in front of me said he got stuff he didn't order and stuff he did order was missing. The clerk told him that they were out of granola, bagels and fresh fruit. So, I guess that explains why we didn't get it either.

While it was a unqiue place and we like some things about it I dont' think we'll ever go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I loved everything about this hotel ! It was impeccably clean, the atmosphere was calming and inviting, the service and staff were so outstanding and friendly they didn't make me feel obligated to tip just because it's customary they actually earned and deserved to be tipped! The location is great too! There is so much to do just in this area alone you can travel on foot and leave your car in it's parking space. The Inn at Claussen's is the BEST VALUE in my opinion in the Columbia area and the rates are MORE THAN REASONABLE for a hotel of this class!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a night here with the family recently. Got a Groupon package that included Zoo passes and one night accommodations with room service breakfast.

Having never been to the Five Points area, this was a great place to start and explore.

Employess were all nice and friendly. Service was good. Room was clean overall but bathroom needed an update (some mold in shower, etc). Beds comfortable.

Breakfast was very tasty and a treat to have delivered but was lateer than the time requested. Family was getting hungry so I had to hunt down the food. ;)

Overall a nice place would return

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Our room was quite large and very clean. This is not that standard run of mill chain hotel. The desk staff was very helpful. Breakfast is delivered to your room. A complementary glass of wine is a nice touch, and the lobby was a nice place to enjoy it.

There is a railroad track right next door, but almost all of the rooms are on the opposite side of the hotel (I only remember one on the same side as the tracks).

Being a Friday night, the bars along the street were over-packed, but we couldn't hear any of the noise inside our room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn At Claussen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Claussen's

Address: 2003 Greene Street, Columbia, SC 29205-1638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#18 Family Hotel in Columbia
#27 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn At Claussen's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Southern Hospitality at it’s finest in the heart of Columbia, South Carolina. Listed on the National Historic Register, The Inn at Claussen’s blends historic grandeur, exquisite service and eco-friendly amenities in perfect proportion. Once home to Claussen’s Bakery we are now a 29 room Boutique Inn, just steps away from some of the best dining and shopping in South Carolina. Whether you’re taking a quick vacation or getting down to business, we have all the modern comforts to help you get away or stay connected. At The Inn at Claussen’s you can always expect your breakfast to be delivered to your room in the morning, a glass of wine in the evenings and gracious hospitality around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Inn At Claussen's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Claussen`s Hotel Columbia
Hotel At Claussens
At Claussens Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn At Claussen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.